Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Library Work Study Training Guide: Research help

This guide is designed to help train library work study students.

Introduction

The Research Help Desk is located on the Library 2nd Floor, adjacent to the main staircase. At least one librarian is available during all open hours to answer general and research questions.  The two Minolta/Konica printer/copiers on the 2nd Floor are linked to the student Pharos system; technology fee funds can be used for both printing and photocopying. Staplers and other supply items are near the printers.  All computers on the floor are open to students and university staff, but community patrons are limited to the nine stations in front of the Research Desk.  The Reference print collection begins on the West side of the floor with paper indexes, abstracts and oversize books (primarily atlases), and ends on the East side near the desk. Reference books may be checked out for short periods with permission from a librarian.

E-reserves

Faculty may post reserve readings for an entire class to the E-reserves site.  Students may search by course number, course name, department, or instructor.  The instructor will give a password to the students in a specific class to log into that class’s E-reserves site.  Circulation staff can assist if a student doesn’t have his or her password.

Library Databases

Introduction

In most cases if a patron asks for research assistance you will want to direct them to the Librarian at the 2nd floor Research Help Desk at that time. However, since you are working on the information desk, it would be helpful to be familiar with the Library's databases and how to complete basic searches using them. The Library databases can be accessed by visiting the Library Home page and selecting Library Databases under the SuperSearch search box.

Databases are organized alphabetically or by subject.  

Use the tutorial videos below to explore some of the common databases and their search interfaces.   

Off Campus Database Access

The Library has over 100 databases, and with a couple of exceptions, these are available from off campus (including  the dorms), by logging in with one’s campus e-account username and password. If the account is not operational due to forgotten passwords, or the network prompt to update one’s password, users can reset their passwords. If the online option does not work individuals will need to contact the Help Desk at 549-2002 to have their passwords reset.

Off Campus Database Access

The Library has over 100 databases, and with a couple of exceptions, these are available from off campus, by logging in with one’s campus e-account username and password. If the account is not operational due to forgotten passwords, or the network prompt to update one’s password, users can reset their password. If that doesn't work, they need to contact the Help Desk at 549-2002.

Laptops, iPads and Projector

Dell laptops, Mac books, iPads, and a projector are available for 48 or 3 hour checkout at the circulation desk.

Prospector

 Borrowing PoliciesLinked

[Edit mode is disabled for linked-box]

Prospector Borrowing

Quick, self-service borrowing is available to authorized users at any of the participating libraries. The system allows you to borrow most items that already circulate at local libraries. When you find what you want, just choose the "Request Item" option and follow the instructions on the screen. Your request will be processed within a few days and the item will be delivered to your local library. The general policies which apply to materials delivered through Prospector include:

  • 21 day loan period (some DVDs, CDs, and videotapes may have a more limited loan period of one week with no renewal)
  • 1 renewal
  • Up to 40 requests/check-outs per person
  • Lost item fees are assigned by your local library. Check with them for Prospector materials.
  • Overdue fines will be the same as at your local library (the library whose card you used to check-out the item)
  • If all copies of materials are checked-out a hold may be placed although books may not be recalled

From the Prospector site http://prospector.coalliance.org/screens/about_prospector.html

Useful Links