Library Work Study Training Guide

When someone asks a question that you answer at the service desk, add it here to keep statistics.

1. Scroll to the bottom of the page and log into Admin Sign In using the information provided by your supervisor. 
2. Click on RefAnalytics, then Add Transaction. Choose the appropriate details of the question you've answered, including the READ Scale level. (If a question exceeds level 3, it needs to be referred to a librarian.)
3. Add your location (service desk or public area/stacks), means of contact, patron type, and if you know the affiliated  department, you can add that in the question. Choose type of interaction (see below), and time spent. Submit your response. 
4. If you have a question that you think should be added to the Knowledge Base (Library Answers), and isn't there now, let your supervisor know. Thanks for helping us keep reference statistics accurately!

  

READ SCALE 1: QUICK AND EASY!

• Answers that require the least amount of effort;
• No specialized knowledge skills or expertise;
• No consultation of resources;
• Less than 5 minutes;
• Anyone in the library can answer.

​Examples 

• DIRECTIONAL: Call number locations (known items), referring to Writing Room, IT, ITC, technology rooms / reserving, library policies including room use (study rooms, 236, 217); circulation; LID cards & community use 
• TECHNOLOGY:  Network accounts including lock out, resetting password, LID accounts, printing policies / Valuport 
• RESEARCH: Navigating Library website to find SuperSearch, interlibrary loan services, databases and research guides; getting into databases from off campus

 

READ SCALE 2: SHOW AND TELL!

• Answers given which require more effort;
• Require only minimal specific knowledge skills or expertise;
• Answers may need nominal resource consultation.

Examples

• DIRECTIONAL: Call number locations (known items), referring to Writing Room, IT, ITC, technology rooms / reserving, library policies including room use (study rooms, 236, 217); circulation; LID cards & community use 
• TECHNOLOGY:  Network accounts including lock out, resetting password, LID accounts, printing policies / Valuport   
• RESEARCH: Navigating Library website to find Super Search, interlibrary loan services, databases and research guides; getting into databases from off campus

 

READ SCALE 3: BASIC SKILLS!

• Answers in this category require some effort and time;
• Consultation of ready reference resource materials is needed;
• Minimal instruction of the user may be required;
• Reference knowledge and skills come into play.

Examples

• RESEARCH: Ready reference, explaining the catalog and finding items either known or in a subject area, directing to or demonstrating a relevant database/resource, finding known items via websites/databases, explaining interlibrary loan using Prospector, Worldcat or ClioWeb

 READ SCALE 4: INTERMEDIATE SKILLS

• Answers or research requests require the consultation of multiple resources
• Subject specialists may need to be consulted and more thorough instruction and assistance occurs.
• Reference knowledge and skills needed.
• Efforts can be more supportive in nature for the user, or if searching for a finite answer, difficult to find.
• Exchanges can be more instruction based as staffs teach users more in-depth research skills.

Examples

• RESEARCH: Searching databases, Google Scholar Library link
• CONSULTATION: Using multiple sources/databases, advanced research skills, analyzing sources and assignments, e-mailing documents from a database, web evaluation

 

READ SCALE 5: ADVANCED SKILLS

• More substantial effort and time spent assisting with research and finding information.
• On the high end of the scale, subject specialists need to be consulted.
• Consultation appointments with individuals might be scheduled.
• Efforts are cooperative in nature, between the user and librarian and or working with colleagues.
• Multiple resources used.
• Research, reference knowledge and skills needed.
• Dialogue between the user and librarian may take on a 'back and forth question' dimension.

Examples

• CONSULTATION: Individual consultation, in-depth research & services, advanced research,significant time spent investigating and analyzing topic, collaborative research – shared search process

 READ SCALE 6: ADVANCED SKILLS MAX TIME

• The most effort and time expended.
• Inquiries or requests for information can't be answered on the spot.
• At this level, staff may be providing in-depth research and services for specific needs of the clients.
• This category covers some 'special library' type research services.
• Primary (original documents) and secondary resource materials may be used.

Examples

• CONSULTATION: Inquiries can't be answered on the spot,"special library" type research services, primary & secondary resources consulted, creating bibliographies, in-depth advanced research, relaying and supplying supporting materials for publication, exhibits, etc.. collaboration and on-going research