Skip to Main Content 
Surveying
Construction Quantity Surveying by Donald Towey
The modern quantity surveyor (QS) plays a central role in the management of construction projects, although the exact nature of the role depends on who employs the QS. The Professional Quantity Surveyor engaged by the client and the Contractor's Quantity Surveyor have different roles to play in any construction project, with the contractor's QS role extending beyond measurement to the day-to-day running of building projects, estimating, contract administration and construction planning, as well as commercial, cost and project management. This book aims to provide readers with a practical guide into quantity surveying from a main contractor's perspective. Readers will acquire an understanding of the skills and competencies required by the contractor's quantity surveyor. Following a brief introduction, the book's early chapters cover measurement methodology and the contractor's business, with the rest of the chapters discussing commercial and contractual management of a construction project, including day-to-day running from commencement through to completion, in a highly practical way.
Call Number : online
ISBN: 1118329767
Publication Date: 2012
Precision Surveying by John Olusegun Ogundare
A comprehensive overview of high precision surveying, including recent developments in geomatics and their applications This book covers advanced precision surveying techniques, their proper use in engineering and geoscience projects, and their importance in the detailed analysis and evaluation of surveying projects. The early chapters review the fundamentals of precision surveying: the types of surveys; survey observations; standards and specifications; and accuracy assessments for angle, distance and position difference measurement systems. The book also covers network design and 3-D coordinating systems before discussing specialized topics such as structural and ground deformation monitoring techniques and analysis, mining surveys, tunneling surveys, and alignment surveys. Precision Surveying: The Principles and Geomatics Practice: Covers structural and ground deformation monitoring analysis, advanced techniques in mining and tunneling surveys, and high precision alignment of engineering structures Discusses the standards and specifications available for geomatics projects, including their representations, interpretations, relationships with quality assurance/quality control measures, and their use in geomatics projects Describes network design and simulation, including error analysis and budgeting Explains the main properties of high-precision surveys with regard to basic survey procedures and different traditional measurement techniques Analyzes survey observables such as angle, distance, elevation difference and coordinate difference measurements, and the relevant equipment, including the testing and utilization of the equipment Provides several case studies and real world examples Precision Surveying: The Principles and Geomatics Practice is written for upper undergraduate students and graduate students in the fields of surveying and geomatics. This textbook is also a resource for geomatics researchers, geomatics software developers, and practicing surveyors and engineers interested in precision surveys.
Call Number : online
ISBN: 9781119102533
Publication Date: 2015
Practical Boundary Surveying by Paul Gay
This complete guide to boundary surveying provides landowners, land surveyors and students with the necessary foundation to understand boundary surveying techniques and the common legal issues that govern boundary establishment. Far from a simple engineering function, boundary establishment is often a difficult and delicate matter, with real monetary and legal ramifications if not accomplished accurately. This book helps readers to understand why such challenges exist and what remedies may be available. Using only simple and logically explained mathematics, the principles and practice of boundary surveying are demystified for those without prior experience and the focused coverage of pivotal issues such as easements and setting lot corners will aid even licensed practitioners in untangling thorny cases. Practical advice on using both basic and advanced instruments is included, alongside clear explanations of legal regulations that will impact any surveyor's work. For those who desire a more in-depth treatment of the mathematical aspects of boundary surveying, the Appendix includes the underlying theory and many examples of typical calculations performed by boundary surveyors.
Call Number : online
ISBN: 9783319071589
Publication Date: 2014
Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying by Sandra Lee; William Trench; Andrew Willis
The measurement of building elements is a core subject for quantity surveying students. Responding to the recently published second volume of the New Rules of Measurement (NRM2) by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, the 12th edition of Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying explains, from first principles and to NRM2 standards, the measurement process for all the key building elements. This edition begins with an overview of the need for measurement and the differing rules governing measurement at different stages of the design or project cycle. As in previous editions the focus remains the detailed measurement of building elements, but the text has been fully revised in line with the NRM2 rules. A range of new and revised examples illustrating the use of NRM2 rules are a key feature of the book, which concludes with guidance on how to use the data collected during the measurement process to create the tender documents. In the 12th edition the hallmarks of previous editions - clarity and practicality - have been maintained while ensuring the book is fully up to date, providing the student of quantity surveying with a first class introduction to the measurement of building elements.
Call Number : online
ISBN: 9781118499214
Publication Date: 2013
Construction Quantity Surveying by
The modern quantity surveyor (QS) plays a central role in the management of construction projects, although the exact nature of the role depends on who employs the QS. The Professional Quantity Surveyor engaged by the client and the Contractor's Quantity Surveyor have different roles to play in any construction project, with the contractor's QS role extending beyond measurement to the day-to-day running of building projects, estimating, contract administration and construction planning, as well as commercial, cost and project management. This book aims to provide readers with a practical guide into quantity surveying from a main contractor's perspective. Readers will acquire an understanding of the skills and competencies required by the contractor's quantity surveyor. Following a brief introduction, the book's early chapters cover measurement methodology and the contractor's business, with the rest of the chapters discussing commercial and contractual management of a construction project, including day-to-day running from commencement through to completion, in a highly practical way.
Precision Surveying by
A comprehensive overview of high precision surveying, including recent developments in geomatics and their applications This book covers advanced precision surveying techniques, their proper use in engineering and geoscience projects, and their importance in the detailed analysis and evaluation of surveying projects. The early chapters review the fundamentals of precision surveying: the types of surveys; survey observations; standards and specifications; and accuracy assessments for angle, distance and position difference measurement systems. The book also covers network design and 3-D coordinating systems before discussing specialized topics such as structural and ground deformation monitoring techniques and analysis, mining surveys, tunneling surveys, and alignment surveys. Precision Surveying: The Principles and Geomatics Practice: Covers structural and ground deformation monitoring analysis, advanced techniques in mining and tunneling surveys, and high precision alignment of engineering structures Discusses the standards and specifications available for geomatics projects, including their representations, interpretations, relationships with quality assurance/quality control measures, and their use in geomatics projects Describes network design and simulation, including error analysis and budgeting Explains the main properties of high-precision surveys with regard to basic survey procedures and different traditional measurement techniques Analyzes survey observables such as angle, distance, elevation difference and coordinate difference measurements, and the relevant equipment, including the testing and utilization of the equipment Provides several case studies and real world examples Precision Surveying: The Principles and Geomatics Practice is written for upper undergraduate students and graduate students in the fields of surveying and geomatics. This textbook is also a resource for geomatics researchers, geomatics software developers, and practicing surveyors and engineers interested in precision surveys.
Surveying for Civil and Mine Engineers by 
Practical Boundary Surveying by
This complete guide to boundary surveying provides landowners, land surveyors and students with the necessary foundation to understand boundary surveying techniques and the common legal issues that govern boundary establishment. Far from a simple engineering function, boundary establishment is often a difficult and delicate matter, with real monetary and legal ramifications if not accomplished accurately. This book helps readers to understand why such challenges exist and what remedies may be available. Using only simple and logically explained mathematics, the principles and practice of boundary surveying are demystified for those without prior experience and the focused coverage of pivotal issues such as easements and setting lot corners will aid even licensed practitioners in untangling thorny cases. Practical advice on using both basic and advanced instruments is included, alongside clear explanations of legal regulations that will impact any surveyor's work. For those who desire a more in-depth treatment of the mathematical aspects of boundary surveying, the Appendix includes the underlying theory and many examples of typical calculations performed by boundary surveyors.
Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying by
The measurement of building elements is a core subject for quantity surveying students. Responding to the recently published second volume of the New Rules of Measurement (NRM2) by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, the 12th edition of Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying explains, from first principles and to NRM2 standards, the measurement process for all the key building elements. This edition begins with an overview of the need for measurement and the differing rules governing measurement at different stages of the design or project cycle. As in previous editions the focus remains the detailed measurement of building elements, but the text has been fully revised in line with the NRM2 rules. A range of new and revised examples illustrating the use of NRM2 rules are a key feature of the book, which concludes with guidance on how to use the data collected during the measurement process to create the tender documents. In the 12th edition the hallmarks of previous editions - clarity and practicality - have been maintained while ensuring the book is fully up to date, providing the student of quantity surveying with a first class introduction to the measurement of building elements.