Fundamentals of Building Construction : materials and methods by
Note from the publisher: Now in its sixth edition, this bestselling reference focuses on the basic materials and methods used in building construction. Emphasizing common construction systems such as light wood frame, masonry bearing wall, steel frame, and reinforced concrete construction, the new edition includes new information on building materials properties; the latest on "pre-engineered" building components and sustainability issues; and reflects the latest building codes and standards. It also features an expanded series of case studies along with more axonometric detail drawings and revised photographs for a thoroughly illustrated approach.
Handbook of Recycled Concrete and Demolition Waste by
The ability to recycle and reuse concrete and demolition waste is critical to reducing environmental impacts in meeting national, regional and global environmental targets. Summarises key recent research in recycling and reusing concrete and demolition waste to reduce environmental impacts and meet national, regional and global environmental targets Considers techniques for managing construction and demolition waste, including waste management plans, ways of estimating levels of waste, the types and optimal location of waste recycling plants Reviews key steps in handling construction and demolition waste
CP-1(17) Concrete Field Testing Technician-Grade I, Edition by
The ACI Certification Program for Concrete Field Testing Technician--Grade I has been developed for the purpose of certifying concrete technicians who have demonstrated the knowledge and ability to properly perform the basic field tests on freshly mixed concrete.
CP-19(17) Concrete Laboratory Testing Technician workbook : ACI certification program for concrete strength testing technician Edition by 
Advances in Asphalt Materials by
The urgent need for infrastructure rehabilitation and maintenance has led to a rise in the levels of research into bituminous materials. Breakthroughs in sustainable and environmentally friendly bituminous materials are certain to have a significant impact on national economies and energy sustainability. This book will provide a comprehensive review on recent advances in research and technological developments in bituminous materials. Opening with an introductory chapter on asphalt materials and a section on the perspective of bituminous binder specifications, Part One covers the physiochemical characterisation and analysis of asphalt materials. Part Two reviews the range of distress (damage) mechanisms in asphalt materials, with chapters covering cracking, deformation, fatigue cracking and healing of asphalt mixtures, as well as moisture damage and the multiscale oxidative aging modelling approach for asphalt concrete. The final section of this book investigates alternative asphalt materials. Chapters within this section review such aspects as alternative binders for asphalt pavements such as bio binders and RAP, paving with asphalt emulsions and aggregate grading optimization.
Advancement in the Design and Performance of Sustainable Asphalt Pavements by
This volume on "Advancement in the Design and Performance of Sustainable Asphalt Pavements" includes a collection of research and practical papers from an international research and technology activities on Mixture Design Innovation, Structural Pavement Design, Advancement in Production and Construction, Climate Changes and Effects on Infrastructure, Green Energy, Technology and Integration. The volume constitutes an important contribution in view of the urgent need to develop materials, designs, and practices to ensure the sustainability of transportation infrastructure. This volume is part of the proceedings of the 1st GeoMEast International Congress and Exhibition on Sustainable Civil Infrastructures, Egypt 2017.
Optimum Design of Steel Structures by
This book helps designers and manufacturers to select and develop the most suitable and competitive steel structures, which are safe, fit for production and economic. An optimum design system is used to find the best characteristics of structural models, which guarantee the fulfilment of design and fabrication requirements and minimize the cost function. Realistic numerical models are used as main components of industrial steel structures. Chapter 1 containts some experiences with the optimum design of steel structures Chapter 2 treats some newer mathematical optimization methods. Chapter 3 gives formulae for fabrication times and costs. Chapters 4 deals with beams and columns. Summarizes the Eurocode rules for design. Chapter 5 deals with the design of tubular trusses. Chapter 6 gives the design of frame structures and fire-resistant design rules for a frame. In Chapters 7 some minimum cost design problems of stiffened and cellular plates and shells are worked out for cases of different stiffenings and loads. Chapter 8 gives a cost comparison of cylindrical and conical shells. The book contains a large collection of literatures and a subject list and a name index.
Steel Structures Design Based on Eurocode 3 by 
Encyclopedia of Soil Science by
The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of some 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology. With increased usage of soil for world food production, building materials, and waste repositories, demand has grown for a better global understanding of soil and its processes. longer articles by leading authorities from around the world are supplemented by some 430 definitions of common terms in soil sciences.
Correlations of Soil and Rock Properties in Geotechnical Engineering by
This book presents a one-stop reference to the empirical correlations used extensively in geotechnical engineering. Empirical correlations play a key role in geotechnical engineering designs and analysis. Laboratory and in situ testing of soils can add significant cost to a civil engineering project. By using appropriate empirical correlations, it is possible to derive many design parameters, thus limiting our reliance on these soil tests. The authors have decades of experience in geotechnical engineering, as professional engineers or researchers. The objective of this book is to present a critical evaluation of a wide range of empirical correlations reported in the literature, along with typical values of soil parameters, in the light of their experience and knowledge. This book will be a one-stop-shop for the practising professionals, geotechnical researchers and academics looking for specific correlations for estimating certain geotechnical parameters. The empirical correlations in the forms of equations and charts and typical values are collated from extensive literature review, and from the authors' database.
Soil Dynamics and Soil-Structure Interaction for Resilient Infrastructure by
Infrastructure is the key to creating a sustainable community. It affects our future well-being as well as the economic climate. Indeed, the infrastructure we are building today will shape tomorrow's communities. GeoMEast 2017 created a venue for researchers and practitioners from all over the world to share their expertise to advance the role of innovative geotechnology in developing sustainable infrastructure. This volume focuses on the role of soil-structure-interaction and soil dynamics. It discusses case studies as well as physical and numerical models of geo-structures. It covers: Soil-Structure-Interaction under static and dynamic loads, dynamic behavior of soils, and soil liquefaction. It is hoped that this volume will contribute to further advance the state-of-the-art for the next generation infrastructure. This volume is part of the proceedings of the 1st GeoMEast International Congress and Exhibition on Sustainable Civil Infrastructures, Egypt 2017.
Sustainable Construction by
The leading green building reference, updated with the latest advances in the field Sustainable Construction is the leading reference for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. With broad coverage including architecture, engineering, and construction, this book nevertheless delivers detailed information on all aspects of the green building process, from materials selection to building systems and more. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest codes and standards, including LEED v4, and includes new coverage of carbon accounting. The discussion has been updated to align with the current thinking on economics, climate change, net zero buildings, and more, with contributions by leaders in the field that illustrate the most recent shifts in thinking and practice. Ancillary materials including an instructor's manual and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter help bring this clear and up-to-date information into the classroom, making this book a valuable reference for working construction professionals. Also, Interactive graphics found throughout the course help activate the content and highlight key concepts for students. Sustainable construction has gone mainstream, and will one day be the industry norm. This book provides a comprehensive reference to all aspects of a project to show you how green building concepts and principles apply throughout the design and construction process. Get up to date on the latest green building codes and standards Learn about the newest technology in green building materials Adopt the best practices in procurement and delivery systems Apply sustainability concepts to all aspects of construction and design Green buildings operate at a very high level of efficiency, which is made possible only by careful consideration every step of the way. Appropriate land use, landscaping, construction materials, siting, water use, and more all play a role in a structure's ultimate carbon footprint. Sustainable Construction provides clear guidance for all aspects of green building, including the most recent advances and the latest technology.
Modern Earth Buildings by
The construction of earth buildings has been taking place worldwide for centuries. With the improved energy efficiency, high level of structural integrity and aesthetically pleasing finishes achieved in modern earth construction, it is now one of the leading choices for sustainable, low-energy building. Modern earth buildings provides an essential exploration of the materials and techniques key to the design, development and construction of such buildings. Beginning with an overview of modern earth building, part one provides an introduction to design and construction issues including insulation, occupant comfort and building codes. Part two goes on to investigate materials for earth buildings, before building technologies are explored in part three including construction techniques for earth buildings. Modern earth structural engineering is the focus of part four, including the creation of earth masonry structures, use of structural steel elements and design of natural disaster-resistant earth buildings. Finally, part five of Modern earth buildings explores the application of modern earth construction through international case studies. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Modern earth buildings is a key reference work for all low-impact building engineers, architects and designers, along with academics in this field. Provides an essential exploration of the materials and techniques key to the design, development and construction of modern earth buildings Comprehensively discusses design and construction issues, materials for earth buildings, construction techniques and modern earth structural engineering, among other topics Examines the application of modern earth construction through international case studies
Materials for a Healthy, Ecological and Sustainable Built Environment by
Principles for Evaluating Building Materials in Sustainable Construction: Healthy and Sustainable Materials for the Built Environment provides a comprehensive overview of the issues associated with the selection of materials for sustainable construction, proposing a holistic and integrated approach. The book evaluates the issues involved in choosing materials from an ecosystem services perspective, from the design stage to the impact of materials on the health of building users. The three main sections of the book discuss building materials in relation to ecosystem services, the implications of materials choice at the design stage, and the impact of materials on building users and their health. The final section focuses on specific case studies that illustrate the richness of solutions that existed before the rise of contemporary construction and that are consistent with a sustainable approach to creating built environments. These are followed by modern examples which apply some, if not all, of the principles discussed in the first three sections of the book. Provides a holistic and integrated approach to the issues associated with the selection of materials for sustainable construction Provides a thorough understanding of ecosystem services based on ecology research for built environment design Provides an original review of the impact of materials on human health Provides case studies to illustrate the points above