Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Books & eBooks
201 Careers in Nursing by Joyce J. Fitzpatrick; Emerson E. EaFew professions have evolved as much as nursing has, or offer as much variety, opportunity for growth, and potential for great personal and professional satisfaction. 201 Careers in Nursing, the new edition significantly expanding, updating and
First Year Nurse: Wisdom, Warnings, and What I Wish I'd Known My First 100 Days on the Job by Barbara Arnoldussen (editor)Your first 100 days at a new job could be daunting---unless you go in prepared. First Year Nurse places the wisdom and warnings of hundreds of experienced nurses right at your fingertips. You'll learn all about how to start off on the right foot; plan and prioritize; communicate with your colleagues; cope with challenging patients; keep your energy up (and stress down); and set a course for professional growth. Best of all, you'll be inspired by the compassion, insight, and enthusiasm you'll find on every page of this charming, helpful book. Features: Valuable advice and personal accounts from experienced nurses Tips on subjects from time management to avoiding burnout
Call Number : RT82 .F57 2009
Publication Date: 2009
New Nurse's Survival Guide by Genevieve ChandlerYour transition from nursing student to practicing nurse begins here! "As a nursing faculty member, I found the book informative, interesting, and just a pleasure to read. There is a lot of useful information for the new graduate nurse. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service Packed with real-life examples and indispensable advice from novice nurses and staff development experts, New Nurse's Survival Guide is the single best book available on how to get the job you want and become the nurse you aspire to be after you graduate from nursing school. You'll learn exactly what you must know and do in order to stand out from all the other new graduates and make yourself irresistible to employers -- in even the most challenging job market. And you'll find out what it really takes to thrive, not just survive, during your first year on the job. Land a great job in any economy by learning: What you can do to gain on-the-job experience while you are still in school How to prepare for your job search, interview, and orientation What hospitals are looking for and what you need to bring to the table How you can demonstrate that you are a nurse that takes the initiative How to demonstrate leadership to potential employers
The Student Nurse Toolkit by Ian PeateYour very own companion to any pre-registration nursing course! Packed with advice, hints and tips, this essential, practical guide will orientate and guide you through your nursing course even before you start. Written in a straightforward, no-nonsense style, this Toolkit is full of strategies and help for surviving and succeeding on your pre-registration nursing course, and addresses all the key issues and concerns you may face, including: How to get the most out of your clinical placement The nursing terminology you need to know - including NMC standards How to create a professional Portfolio How to achieve a healthy work-life balance How to develop an effective relationship with your mentor With case studies from real students, hands-on activities and suggestions for further reading, this is THE essential survival guide for your nursing course!