Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.
Full-text dissertations (1997-present), with abstracts for dissertations going back to the 19th century. Dissertations are a great place to find reference lists, as well as copies of instruments. Formerly Digital Dissertations.
Books & eBooks
Advanced Practice Nursing: An Integrative Approach by Ann B. Hamric; Judith A. Spross; Charlene M. HansonCovering all advanced practice competencies and roles, this book offers strategies for enhancing patient care and legitimizing your role within today's health care system. It covers the history of advanced practice nursing, the theory behind the practice, and emerging issues. Offering a comprehensive exploration of advanced practice nursing, this edition also adds a focus on topics including the APN scope of practice, certification, and the ethical and legal issues that occur in clinical practice. The development of all major competencies of advanced practice nursing is discussed: direct clinical practice, consultation, coaching/guidance, research, leadership, collaboration, and ethical decision-making. Advanced practice competencies are discussed in relation to all advanced practice nursing and blended CNS-NP roles (case manager, acute care nurse practitioner), highlighting the shared aims and distinctions of each role. In-depth discussions on educational strategies explain how competencies develop as the nurses' practice progresses. A chapter on research competencies demonstrates how to use evidence-based research in practice, and how to promote these research competencies to other APNs. A conceptual framework shows the clear relationship between the competencies, roles, and challenges in today's health care environment. Practical strategies are provided for business management, contracting, and marketing. Comprehensive information covers the essential competencies of the new Doctor of Nursing Practice degree. More exemplars (case studies) provide real-life scenarios showing APN competencies in action. A new chapter shows how to provide reliable and valid data to substantiate your impact and justify equitable reimbursement for APN services, also enhancing your skills in quality improvement strategies, informatics, and systems thinking. Information on telehealth considerations covers the new sources of electronic healthcare information available to patients and describes how to counsel them on using reliable resources.
Call Number : RT82.8 .A384 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Art of Communication in Nursing and Health Care by Theresa Raphael-GrimmA handy guide to tackling difficult patient and professional interactions with confidence and compassion In this age of increasing reliance on technology, it is essential that the fundamentals of compassion and good communication--the art of patient care--remain at the heart of health care. This clear, concise guide to professional communication strategies helps nurses and other health care clinicians to build effective patient relationships and navigate a wide variety of difficult patient and professional interactions. Written by a practicing psychotherapist who has devoted nearly 30 years of study to clinician--patient relationships, the book tackles such complex issues as dealing with demanding patients, maintaining professional boundaries, overcoming biases and stereotypes, managing clinician emotions, communicating bad news, challenging a colleague's clinical opinion, and other common scenarios. The book guides the reader through a conceptual framework for building effective relationships that is based on the principles of mindfulness. These principles are embedded in discussions of the fundamental elements of interpersonal effectiveness, such as hope, empathy, and listening. Chapters apply mindfulness principles to specific challenging situations with concrete examples that describe effective clinical behaviors as well as situations depicting pitfalls that may impede compassionate care. From a focus on everyday manners in difficult situations to beneficial approaches with challenging populations, the guide helps health care professionals confidently resolve common problems. Brief, to-the-point chapters help clinicians channel their clinical knowledge and good intentions into caring behaviors that allow the patient to more fully experience empathy and compassion. With the guiding theme of "using words as precision instruments," this is a resource that will be referred to again and again. Key Features: - Helps health care professionals and nurses communicate effectively in challenging clinical and professional situations - Uses the principles of mindfulness to build satisfying relationships and resolve problems - Addresses such difficult issues as demanding patients, maintaining boundaries, overcoming biases, managing clinician emotions, and much more - Provides special tips for communicating with family members and caregivers - Authored by a practicing psychotherapist specializing in clinician--patient relationships for nearly 30 years
Call Number : eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Best Practices in Nursing Education by Mary Jane SmithWho better to learn from about teaching than teachers themselves? Written by teachers and about teachers, this book is for graduate students in nursing education as well as mid-career nurse educators. This volume features narratives based on interviews with twenty-one distinguished teachers of nursing. Selected by the editors based on personal experiences with them as teachers or mentors, their current stature in the nursing education community, or because they are recipients of national teaching awards, these teachers provide multiple role models for career development and offer a plethora of wisdom, including: Deciding on a career in teaching nursing Preparing and mentoring in teaching Maintaining excellence Comfortable times as a teacher Embarrassing teaching moments Most and least rewarding times Significant challenges Advice for new teachers Building collegial relationships Continuous self-development Scholarly development Balancing professional and personal life
Call Number : RT90 .B47 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Innovative Teaching Strategies in Nursing and Related Health Professions by Martha Bradshaw; Arlene LowensteinInnovative Teaching Strategies in Nursing and Related Health Professions, Sixth Edition is focused on providing in-depth coverage around teaching, learning and evaluation strategies for Nurse Educators and health professionals. The text addresses different styles of learning, diversity in the classroom and critical thinking. Creative and innovative strategies and techniques are woven throughout the text with an emphasis on the importance of simulation in the classroom.The authors bring key concepts to life by including specific examples and suggestions for how to implement teaching strategies, how to identify types of learners as well as how to predict potential issues or challenges with each strategy. The Sixth Edition addresses specific teaching-learning strategies for traditional classroom settings, the clinical arena, and through the use of technology for both web-based and virtual simulation. The new edition focuses on the strategy behind the use of technology to help the students understand how it helps to promote learning and engagement.Innovative Teaching Strategies in Nursing and Related Health Professions, Sixth Edition is appropriate for all graduate level courses for health professions educators. A unique quality of this text is that it can be used in any health professions program other than nursing. No other Health professions education text acknowledges fields other than nursing. This text is widely used by students who practice and teach in a variety of health professions and is viewed as an integral resource for their professional development. Key Features: - Provides specific examples and suggestions for how or when to use particular teaching strategies according to type of learner in the classroom - Addresses trends in health care and education of health professionals (Reference is made to the 2003 report from the Institute of Medicine on health professions education. Examples throughout point to the changing nature of patient care and show how to prepare students to practice in diverse settings)- Discusses the use of Library Resources- Includes coverage of the education of health professionalsNew to this Edition:Clinical ReasoningResearch and teaching the strategies of searching written by a Research LibrarianInnovation of new teaching methods and technologiesEmphasis on simulation Extensive revision of Concept Mapping chapter along with information on how to grade a student's mapTeaching preparation and the use of resourcesSynchronous Learning
Call Number : RT71 .I56 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Curriculum Development and Evaluation in Nursing by Sarah B. KeatingThis is a detailed yet practical guide to planning, developing, and evaluating nursing curricula and educational programs. It provides a comprehensive and critical perspective on the totality of variables impacting curricular decisions... This book provides readers with a comprehensive overview of curriculum development, redesign, and evaluation processes and exposes them to the variables impacting curricular decisions... 92 - 4 Stars.Kathleen A. Poindexter, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, Doody's Book Reviews "New Edition of The Leading Nursing Text on Curriculum Development and Evaluation " This third edition of the leading nursing text on curriculum development and evaluation continues to address relevant NLN and AACN core competencies for curricula in all undergraduate and graduate nursing programs. Written for graduate students and faculty, this new edition responds to the many changes that have occurred in nursing and education since the second edition was published. These include the continued shortage of nursing faculty and the projected additional losses of experienced faculty due to impending retirements, as well as the implementation of the Affordable Care Act and Consensus Model for Advanced Practice Nursing. This third edition covers curriculum development and evaluation in detail and provides the knowledge and practical applications needed by new and experienced faculty to confidently embrace the academic role. With an emphasis on interdisciplinary collaboration throughout, the text focuses on the growth of simulation, guidance for new faculty transitioning from a clinical to academic role, developing curricula for practice and academic settings, program evaluation, accreditation activities, and recommendation for research in nursing education. Also addressed is the explosion of DNP programs across the country and its effect on practice and education, as well as the controversy surrounding the use of simulation. Chapter objectives, discussion points, learning activities, references and a glossary enhance learning and retention of material. The text is a valuable resource for CNE certification review. New to the Third Edition: New chapter: Role of Faculty in Curriculum Development and Evaluation New chapter: Financial Support and Budget Management for Curriculum Development New chapter: Research and Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing Education Emphasis on guiding the assimilation of new instructors into faculty roles of program and curriculum development, instructional design, and student evaluation New content on curriculum evaluation, financial support, and budget management Strong focus on Interdisciplinary Educational Collaboration throughout Addresses the need for preparing more faculty to educate thousands of new nurses as defined by the IOM Report, the Affordable Care Act, and the Consensus Model Instructor Materials including: PowerPoint slides, syllabi, teaching/learning strategies, learning activities and associated rubrics for grading.