These databases are particularly good resources for research in nursing ethics and law.
Books dealing with nursing ethics are generally located in the RT 85 section on the 4th floor of the LARC.
Nursing Law and Ethics by
Nursing Law and Ethics explores a variety of key legal and ethical issues in nursing practice using a thought-provoking and holistic approach. It addresses both what the law requires and what is right, and explores whether these two are always the same. The book provides an overview of the legal, ethical and professional dimensions of nursing, followed by exploration of key issues in greater depth. This edition features updated legislation and new material on patient safety. Key topics are accompanied by both a legal and an ethical perspective, covering both law and ethics Case examples throughout place concepts in a real-life context Written by experts in the field and includes contributions from leading nurses, lawyers and ethicists Accessible, relevant, and comprehensive, this title is ideal for pre- and post-registration nurses.
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide by
Awarded Second Place in the 2017 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Advanced Practice Nursing!Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Sixth Edition is a must-have resource for every new or current nurse practitioner (NP) that explains and analyzes the legal issues relevant to nurse practitioners. Completely updated and revised, it includes a new chapter on answering frequently asked questions from NPs. In addition, it provides the latest state-by-state laws, including regulatory developments and prosecutions of nurse practitioners, and new case analyses and lessons learned from those cases.The Sixth Edition also offers new discussions of NP competencies, how the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree relates to NPs, the differences in primary care and acute care NPs, definitions of medical bio-ethics terminology, additional malpractice cases and the lessons to learn from them, emerging issues in health policy, guidelines around prescribing opioids and controlled drugs, clinical performance measures, electronic health records, and new opportunities for NPs under the Affordable Care Act.What's more, it addresses emerging health law issues with analysis of key cases, including:* Examples regarding trouble over NPs and kickbacks* Stark Law compliance issues and related criminal cases involving nurse practitioners who are employed by hospitals* Nurse practitioners who have encountered issues with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)* An attempted work around for the Medicare requirement that a physician order home care resulting in an NP using a physician's name to order home care and then being prosecuted for identity theft* An NP and physician who did not follow Medicare's incident-to rules and both the NP and MD were charged with health care fraud* Criminal cases against NPs who prescribed opioids or steroids either without authorization or without appropriate evaluation and monitoring
Ethics and Issues in Contemporary Nursing by
Today's nurses face a multitude of legal and ethical dilemmas that fall outside the scope of clinical and medical training. Practical and thought provoking, ETHICS & ISSUES IN CONTEMPORARY NURSING, 4th Edition examines the latest trends, principles, theories, and models in patient care to help you make ethically sound decisions in complex and often controversial situations. Acknowledging an ever-expanding global society, compelling examples are presented from national and international headlines that invite readers to explore the cases in light of socio-cultural influences, personal values, and professional ethics. Historical examples demonstrate how to think critically through various problems while upholding moral and professional standards, as well as the law. Key topics include patient advocacy and rights, diversity, medication error prevention, health care information management, portability and accountability, and health care reform. In addition to in-book learning features like analysis problems, review questions, sample forms, and appendices, ETHICS & ISSUES IN CONTEMPORARY NURSING, 4th Edition offers supplemental, interactive tools to challenge you further, and prepare you for morally sound behavior in any health care setting.
Evidence-Informed Health Policy by
What happens in health policy at local, state, and federal levels directly affects patients, nurses, and nursing practice. Some healthcare professionals, though, are intimidated by the complex and often nonlinear policy process or simply don't know how to take the first step toward implementing policy change, in Evidence-Informed Health Policy, authors Jacqueline M. Loversidge and Joyce Zurmehly demystify health policymaking and equip nurses and other healthcare professionals with the knowledge, tools, and confidence to navigate the first of many steps into health policy. This book translates the EBP language of clinical decision-making the EBP language of clinical decision-making into an evidence-informed health policy (EIHP) model-a foundation for integrating evidence into health policymaking and leveraging dialogue with stakeholders. Readers will develop a stronger understanding of policymaking and its role within government, learn strategies for influencing policymakers, and help shape future healthcare policy that makes the best use of evidence. Book jacket.
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice by
The fifth edition of Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice has been revised to reflect the most current issues in healthcare ethics including new cases, laws, and policies. The text continues to be divided into three sections: Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving Into Ethics Across the Lifespan; and Ethics Related to Special Issues focused on specific populations and nursing roles. The text includes legal features sections in most chapters, an expanded appendix of case studies with suggestions for discussion, and ethical reflections questions in each chapter. This new edition will also include an appendix focused on simulation suggestions, heavier coverage of ethics and terrorism, and stronger coverage of immigration and the importance of remaining unbiased a healthcare provider. Key Features:Even more case studies, with recent legal/ethical casesNew appendix focused on simulation suggestionsHeavier focus on immigration and importance of remaining unbiased as a healthcare provider, ethics and terrorismUpdate to national health insurance informationUpdate information on vaccines, polypharmacy and antipsychotic drugs