600,000+ full-text articles from 560+ journals in health sciences (1937-present).
Books & eBooks
Nursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice by Kathleen MastersNursing Theories: A Framework for Professional Practice, Second Edition covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing. The Second Edition features additional practice level or middle range theories with supporting diagrams that illustrate the use the nursing process in the context of the specific theory. Each chapter will also feature call out boxes describing the literature of the theory's use in nursing practice. Updates to the Second Edition: New chapter on Transitions TheoryNew coverage on Postpartum DepressionNew information on Uncertainty in Illness TheoryIllustrations in each theory chapter demonstrate how theory relates to the nursing processCurrent examples found in each chapter tied to updated research
Call Number : ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by Ann Marriner Tomey; Martha Raile AlligoodA classic in the field of nursing theory! This renowned textbook guides the reader through in-depth descriptions and analyses of 31 specific nursing theories - many reviewed and validated by the theorists themselves - in a logical, consistent chapter organization that makes information easy to follow. Its comprehensive and thorough approach, objective critiques, and clear writing style make it ideal for the study of theory at all levels of nursing. Twelve new chapters and updated material throughout this edition provide a wealth of information on the most current and cutting-edge ideas in nursing theory today. Each theorist chapter presents that individual's work in a logical, consistent framework, making the information easy to follow. A Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines and summarizes the theory's most significant ideas, while also clarifying content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter is written by one or more scholars specializing in that particular theorist's work, often individuals who have worked closely with the theorist. Whenever possible, chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorists themselves for currency and accuracy. An extensive bibliography at the end of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information for further research. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter challenge students to apply the theory to personal and hypothetical practice situations. Beginning chapters on the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and theory development process present a strong foundation for the study of nursing theory. A new Nursing Model chapter has been added on Anne Boykin and Savina O. Schoenhofer: Nursing as Caring: A Model for Transforming Practice. A new Nursing Theory chapter covers Gladys L. Husted and James H. Husted: Symphonological Bioethical Theory. Three new Nursing Philosophies are included: Katie Eriksson: Theory of Caritative Caring; Kari Martinsen: Philosophy of Caring; and Marilyn Anne Ray: Theory of Bureaucratic Caring. Seven new chapters on Middle Range Nursing Theories cover: Phil Barker: The Tidal Model of Mental Health Recovery; Cheryl Tatano Beck: Postpartum Depression Theory; Georgene Gaskill Eakes, Mary Lermann Burke, and Margaret A. Hainsworth: Theory of Chronic Sorrow; Pamela G. Reed: Self-Transcendence Theory; Cornelia M. Ruland and Shirley M. Moore: Peaceful End of Life Theory; Kristen M. Swanson: Theory of Caring; and Carolyn L. Wiener and Marylin J. Dodd: Theory of Illness Trajectory. Each theorist chapter contains a brief summary that condenses the comprehensive discussion of the theorist's work. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating a way in which the information can be applied to practice. Eleven theorists have been combined into a single new chapter - Nursing Theorists of Historical Significance - that better reflects the ways in which the individuals' ideas are used today. A number of chapters, including several of the new chapters, feature international theorists and/or international chapter authors to provide a more diverse, global perspective of nursing. Dates of the theorists' birth (and death, if applicable) have been added to the chapter openers to provide a historical context for their work.
Call Number : RT84.5 .N91 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by Marilyn E. ParkerAimed at undergraduate and graduate students, this text traces the evolution of nursing theory from its roots in the ideas of Florence Nightingale through theories developed in the last few years. Each chapter describes a particular theory and then explains how it is applied in nursing practice, research, education, and administration. Many of the
Call Number : RT84.5 .N87 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Perspectives on Nursing Theory by Pamela G. Reed; Nelma C. ShearerThis book is an anthology of classic and contemporary nursing articles that address various theoretical and philosophical perspectives on the nature of theory and knowledge development. It is designed to provide a comprehensive overview of the important discussions taking place regarding the structures and processes of knowledge building in nursing.
Call Number : RT84.5 .P47 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Nursing Theory: Utilization & Application by Martha Raile Alligood; Ann Marriner TomeyThis valuable text offers clearly defined and practical ways to integrate nursing theory into actual nursing practice. Intended as a companion title to Nursing Theorists and Their Work, Nursing Theory goes beyond the presentation of the theories to help readers determine concrete ways to apply these often abstract concepts in everyday practice. Designed as a companion title to Nursing Theorists and Their Work, this text helps readers apply complex nursing theories to realistic nursing situations. This is the only book that explores the moral and ethical meaning of nursing practice and with specific nursing duties. Features a recurring case study character - Debbie - to apply a variety of philosophies, models, and theories to this same patient, encouraging students to compare and contrast the various nursing care approaches presented. The student-friendly approach presents the content logically in three distinct parts: Part I: Conceptualization discusses the history of nursing's search for substantive knowledge and provides necessary background information to help readers understand and apply theory. Part II: Application contains 16 chapters, each designed as a critical thinking structure outlining an overview of a nursing theoretical work and illustrating that work through case application and critical thinking exercises. Part III: Expansion contains two chapters: one highlighting nursing practice areas for expansion of theory-based practice; and another issuing a challenge based on nursing values and the essential nature of theory-based nursing. Critical Thinking Exercises at the end of each chapter present a diverse offering of patients and cases and serve as ideal weekly threads for courses that are taught through distance education. The Application section presents theory as a guide for reasoning and decision-making. This approach helps clarify the critical thinking process for the reader through case studies, critical thinking tables, and end-of-chapter exercises, helping each student learn to personally apply each philosophy, model, and theory discussed. Links among philosophies, models, and theories build a sound knowledge foundation for practice and explain the evolution of nursing theory. Chapter 1, The Nature of Knowledge Needed for Nursing Practice, introduces a new period in nursing theory -the Theory Utilization Era - that highlights today's widespread use of middle range theory. The idea of middle range theory in a generic structure of knowledge is developed throughout the book.
Call Number : RT84.5 .A4 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by Melanie McEwen; Evelyn M. WillsThis text is the most contemporary and comprehensive Nursing Theory textbook on the market today. Written in an easily understood style, it reflects current content course needs by addressing the underlying information needed to understand and apply theory to practice. One of the most popular aspects of this text is how it presents shared theories from other disciplines—such as the sociological, behavioral, and biomedical sciences—and relates them to nursing practice, research, education, and administration.