Skip to Main Content

*Philosophy Research

This guide offers a foundational overview of philosophy research and provides students with the necessary tools and strategies to navigate philosophical texts, databases, and scholarly debate effectively.

SuperSearch: Searching for Articles

Before beginning your search, first select the SuperSearch Option you want to use when you search:

  • SuperSearch: Searches the physical collection and ebooks 
  • Everything: Searches most of the physical collection, ebooks, and select databases
  • Course Reserves: Searches the collection of books at the circulation desk

Once you have the correct option selected, your searches should provide you with more helpful resources.  

Screenshot of a blank SuperSearch Advanced search page. The image has a highlight box and arrows pointing to the three search options: SuperSearch, Everything, and Course Reserves. These options are located above the first search bar and can be adjusted before entering keywords into the search bar. By default, the selected search option is SuperSearch.

Beginning an Article Search

  1. In SuperSearch's Advanced Search, in the search bar, you can type in the article's title or keywords, subject topic, or the article's author. Then, in the Material Type, click on the drop-down menu and select Articles.
  2. Then, click on the green magnifying glass Search option to search.

Screenshot of the SuperSearch Advanced search page with the beginning of an example search. To highlight where to type in keywords, there is a highlight box and a directional arrow pointing to the first search bar, which has education as an example keyword. On the right side of the search menu, to show the location of the Material Type dropdown menu, it has a highlight box and is pointed to by a directional arrow. For the example search, the Material Type is set to search for Articles. The last highlight box and directional arrow are located in the bottom right corner, around the Search button.

  1. If needed, in the left-hand toolbar, go to the Show Only section and click on the checkbox area for the Online at CSU-Pueblo and Peer-reviewed Journals options. Then, at the bottom of the toolbar, click on Apply Filters.
  2. An additional helpful filter is the Publication Date, which will let you adjust the date range of when the articles were published. This can be useful if you are looking for recently published articles or if an assignment provides a set timeframe of when articles should be published. 
  3. If needed, at the bottom of the left-hand toolbar, click on Apply Filters.

Screenshot from a completed SuperSearch example search for material connected to the keyword education. To highlight how to filter the results, a directional arrow is pointing to the left-hand toolbar, and a highlight box is around the Show Only, Source Type, and Publication Date sections. In the Show Only section, there are check marks next to the filters: Online at CSU-Pueblo and Peer-reviewed Journals. In the Publication Date section, the entered dates are 2025-2027. To apply the filters to the results, the Apply Filters button is at the bottom of the left-hand toolbar and has a highlight box and directional arrow pointing at the location.  

The Results

  1. The search results will indicate at a glance if you can download an article as a PDF, view the journal issue the article is in, and/or  view the full text online.
  2. In the full record for the article, to access the article from our database, scroll to the section called View Online. In this section, it will list each of the databases that have the article's full text.

A screenshot of an example article’s information tab that has two highlight boxes with directional arrows. The first highlight box and directional arrow are at the top of the screenshot, around the citation information for the article, the peer review icon, and the different links to access the full-text of the article. The second highlight box and directional arrow are in the middle of the screenshot, around the View Online section. This section shows which database has the full-text; if the example were a book, it would show the physical location of the book.

  1. To help you provide the reference citation for the article, scroll to the Send To section and click on Citation. Remember to double-check this citation because there might be some mistakes in this computer-generated citation. 

Note: Interlibrary Loan is a service the University Library provides, which can help gather resources we cannot immediately access. If you need assistance placing a request, please send an email or start a chat session. In addition to setting an appointment with a librarian, the LINC students are also able to assist with research questions. 

A screenshot of an example article’s information tab shows three highlight boxes and directional arrows pointing to locations that provide reference citations for the article. To use this feature, go to the Send To section and click the Citation button, which is marked with a quote symbol above the text citation. To indicate this, the citation button in the screenshot is surrounded by a highlight box and an arrow. After clicking the button, a new menu appears below the Send To section buttons. On the left side, there is a list of popular citation styles: MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and Harvard, with a highlight box around the current selection. On the right side, SuperSearch displays the generated citation, which varies depending on the selected style. To copy the citation, click the button labeled 'Copy Citation to Clipboard' located beneath the citation, which is also highlighted in the screenshot.