Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Legal Research: Getting Started

Welcome

This guide explains the various resources of legal information available from the CSU-Pueblo University Library, online, and other recommended sources of information. Please note that CSU-Pueblo University Library is not a law library.

None of the library employees practice law and, therefore, are not permitted to:

Conduct legal research for patrons
Provide legal advice or opinions
Read a legal authority over the phone, even if provided with a citation

Legal Databases

Database Icons:

This database is free to use and does not require a login
This database contains primary sources

Recommended Databases

Below are a few selected legal databases. Visit the A-Z Databases list to find an expanded selection of subject-specific databases.

Academic Search Premier
Full-text articles, books, magazines, and videos for all major areas of academic research. Provided by Ebsco.
Colorado Revised Statutes
Printable versions of the codified general and permanent statutes of the Colorado General Assembly.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Government documents: Congressional documents, house & senate reports, hearings, committee publications, and indexing.
HeinOnline
Comprehensive collection of resources on legal history, government documents, case studies, treaties, constitutions, case law, treatises, foreign relations, and law journals.
Legal Information Reference Center
Contains hundreds of full text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
Coverage from all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers, federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law
Oyez
Searchable audio archives of U.S. Supreme Court sessions from 1955-present, commentary/news, biographies of the Justices.

Recommended Websites

American Bar Association
If you require legal assistance, contact your local Bar Association for referrals to attorneys, or use the ABA site.
Pikes Peak Penrose Library
The Pikes Peak Penrose Library, located in Colorado Springs, has a law library that is open to the public.
Denver University: Westminster Law Library
This research guide is designed to assist students and faculty in navigating the legal research process at the University of Denver's Westminster Law Library. It provides an overview of essential resources and effective search strategies for finding legal materials, including statutes, case law, and scholarly legal journals.
University of Colorado: William A. Wise Law Library
This research guide for the University of Colorado Law Library provides an overview of its extensive resources for legal research. It covers how to find books, e-books, and journals, and offers guidance on accessing specialized collections like the Rare Book Room, making it a valuable tool for students, faculty, and the public.

Additional Research Guides

Below are a few selected research guides, which provide resources to help you begin your research. Visit the CSU Pueblo Research Guides page to find all our subject and course-connected research guides.

Discovery & Access: New Tools Research Guide
This guide will inform you of the various products from the Third Iron LibKey Complete Suite. These products are meant to help easily discover, access, and follow journals and articles.
eBooks
This guide aims to provide everything you need to know about eBooks at CSU-Pueblo! It is a work in progress.