The Turabian citation style is designed for students and has instructions on citing and formatting papers for assignments; it does not contain any publication information. The Chicago citation style is designed for professionals in the field who are publishing, and it also provides more details on formatting papers.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition
by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
| Source | Author or Editor of Book | Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. | Place of Publication: | Publisher, | Publication Year. | Page Number |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Book by a Single Author (Notes) | ##. Author’s First and Last Name, | Title of Book: Subtitle of Book | (Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication), | page# - page#. |
| (Bibliography) | Author’s Last Name, Author’s First Name. | Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. | Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication. | |
| Book by Two or Three Authors (Notes) | ##. Author #1’s First and Last Name and Author #2’s First and Last Name, | Title of Book: Subtitle of Book | (Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication), | page# - page#. |
| (Bibliography) | Author #1’s Last Name, First Name, and Author #2’s First and Last Name. | Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. | Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication. | |
| Edited Book (Notes) | ##. Editor’s First and Last Name, ed., | Title of Book: Subtitle of Book | (Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication), | page# - page#. |
|
(Bibliography) |
Editor’s Last Name, First, ed. | Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. | Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication. | |
| Chapter in an Edited (ed.) or Translated (trans.) Book (Notes) | ##. Chapter Author’s First and Last Name, | “Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter,” in Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, ed. Editor’s First and Last Names | (Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication), | page# - page#. |
| (Bibliography) | Chapter Author’s Last Name, First Name. | “Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter.” In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor’s First and Last Name, page-page. | Place of Publication: | Publisher’s Name, | Year of Publication. |
Basic Format for a Single Author:
(Notes):
##. Author’s First and Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication), page-page.
Example:
01. Whitburn, Joel. The Billboard Book of Top 40 Hits (New York: Billboard Publications, 1985), 1-10.
(Bibliography):
Author’s Last Name, Author’s First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication.
Example:
Whitburn, Joel. The Billboard Book of Top 40 Hits. New York: Billboard Publications, 1985.
Format for Two or Three Authors:
(Notes):
##. Author #1’s First and Last Name and Author #2’s First and Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication), page-page.
Example:
01. Elie Wiesel and Stephen D. Becker, The Forgotten (New York: Schocken Books, 1992), 13-15.
(Bibliography):
Author #1’s Last Name, First Name, and Author #2’s First and Last Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication.
Example:
Wiesel, Elie and Stephen D. Becker. The Forgotten. New York: Schocken Books, 1992.
Format for Editor or Translator in Addition to an Author:
(Notes):
##. Author’s First and Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, ed. (*or trans.*) Editor’s First and Last Name (Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication), page-page.
Example:
01. Jean Anouilh, The Lark, trans. Christopher Fry (London: Methuen, 1955), 20-25.
(Bibliography):
Author’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Edited (*or Translated*) by Editor’s First and Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication.
Example:
Anouilh, Jean. The Lark. Translated by Christopher Fry. London: Methuen, 1955.
Format for Single Chapter or Article in an Edited Book:
(Notes):
##. Chapter Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter,” in Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, ed. Editor’s First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication), page.
Example:
01. Paul Tillich, “Being and Love,” in Moral Principles of Action, ed. Ruth N. Anshen (New York: Harper & Bros., 1952), 661-72.
(Bibliography):
Chapter Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter.” In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor’s First and Last Name, page-page. Place of Publication: Publisher’s Name, Date of Publication.
Example:
Tillich, Paul. "Being and Love." In Moral Principles of Action, ed. Ruth N. Anshen, 661-72. New York: Harper & Bros., 1952.
| Source | Author | Title of Article | Title of Journal | Volume Number | Issue (no.) Number | Publication Year | Page Numbers | DOI or URL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Print Article by a Single Author (Notes) | ##. Author’s First and Last Name, | “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” | Title of Journal | Volume Number, | Issue Number | (Date of Publication): | pg# - pg# | |
| (Bibliography) | Author’s Last Name, First Name. | “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article.” | Title of Journal | Volume Number, | Issue Number | (Date of Publication): | pg# - pg# | |
| Online Article by Single Author (Notes) | ##. Author’s First and Last Name, | “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” | Title of Journal | Volume Number, | Issue Number | (Date of Publication): | pg# - pg#, | DOI or URL. |
| (Bibliography) | Author Last Name, First Name. | “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article.” | Title of Journal | Volume Number, | Issue Number | (Date of Publication): | pg# - pg#. | DOI or URL. |
| Online Article by Multiple Authors (Notes) | ##. Author A’s First and Last Name and Author B's First and Last Name | “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” | Title of Journal | Volume Number, | Issue Number | (Date of Publication): | pg# - pg#, | Database Name. |
| (Bibliography) | Author A’s Last Name, First Name and Author B’s First and Last Name. | “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article.” | Title of Journal | Volume Number, | Issue Number | (Date of Publication): | pg# - pg#. | Database Name. |
Format for Basic Print Journal Article by a Single Author:
(Notes):
##. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” Title of Journal Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): page-page.
Example:
01. George J. Watson, “Cultural Imperialism: An Iris View,” The Yale Review 75, no. 4 (Summer 1986): 503-16.
(Bibliography):
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article.” Title of Journal Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): page-page.
Example:
Watson, George J. "Cultural Imperialism: An Irish View." The Yale Review 75, no. 4 (Summer 1986): 503-16.
Format for Online Journal Article by a Single Author:
(Notes):
##. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” Title of Journal Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): page-page, URL (or DOI).
Example:
03. Justin Easterday, "Adapting Research Guides and Library Instruction to Provide Educational Support for Distance and In-person Learners," The Southeastern Librarian 71, no. 2 (2023): 11-19, https://digitalcommons.kennesaw.edu/seln/vol71/iss2/6/.
(Bibliography):
Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article.” Title of Journal Vol #, no. # (Month/Quarter of Publication): page-page. URL (or DOI).
Example:
Easterday, Justin. "Adapting Research Guides and Library Instruction to Provide Educational Support for Distance and In-person Learners." The Southeastern Librarian 71, no. 2 (2023): 11-19. https://digitalcommons.kennesaw.edu/seln/vol71/iss2/6/.
Format for Online Journal Article by Multiple Authors:
(Notes):
##. Author A’s First and Last Name and Author B's First and Last Name, “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” Title of Journal Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): page-page, URL (or DOI).
Example:
01. Richard Lachmann and Lacy Mitchell, “The Changing Face War in Textbooks: Descriptions of World War II and Vietnam, 1970-2009,” Sociology of Education 87, no. 3 (2014): 188-203, https://doi.org/10.1177%2F0038040714537526.
(Bibliography):
Author A’s Last Name, First Name and Author B’s First and Last Name. “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article.” Title of Journal Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Month/Quarter of Publication): page-page. URL (or DOI).
Example:
Lachmann, Richard, and Lacy Mitchell. “The Changing Face War in Textbooks: Depictions of World War II and Vietnam, 1970-2009.” Sociology of Education 87, no. 3 (2014): 188–203, https://doi.org/10.1177%2F0038040714537526.
| Source | Author of Website | Title of Section | Source or Website Name. | Modified, Revision, or Updated Date | Accessed Date | Web Address URL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Website with the Retrieved Date (Notes) | ##. Author’s First and Last Name, | “Title of Page,” | Source or Website Name, | Month Day, Year, | accessed Month Day, Year, | https://web address |
| (Bibliography) | Author’s Last Name, First Name. | “Title of Page.” | Source or Website Name, | Month Day, Year. | Accessed Month Day, Year. | https://web address |
Format for a Basic Website:
(Notes):
##. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Webpage,” Source or Website Name, accessed/posted/modified Month Day, Year, accessed Month Day, Year, URL.
Example:
01. Patty O. Shafter, “About Epilepsy: The Basics,” The Epilepsy Foundation, last modified July 21, 2021, https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/about-epilepsy-basics.
(Bibliography):
Author’s Last Name, Author’s First Name. "Title of Webpage." Source or Website Name. Accessed/posted/modified Month Day, Year, URL.
Example:
Shafter, Patty O. "About Epilepsy: The Basics." The Epilepsy Foundation. Last Modified July 21, 2021, https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/about-epilepsy-basics.