Skip to Main Content

*Chicano Studies

This research guide provides an introduction to Chicano Studies, offering an overview of key resources and a wide variety of primary sources.

Colorado Chicano Movement Archives

The Colorado Chicano Movement Archives (CCMA) is part of the CSU-Pueblo Archives and contains manuscripts, audiovisual materials, oral histories with Colorado activists, and printed material related to the movement's activities in Colorado. Part of a greater national and international struggle challenging social injustice during the 1960s and 70s, the Chicano Movement was an engine for change and had a significant impact on the United States’ system of government. While providing a powerful impetus for transformation in the public education system, electoral politics, labor practices, and law and order policies, the movement also nurtured a cultural renaissance in Chicano art and literature.

The CCMA comprises 20+ individual collections from Chicano activists and organizations including the papers of Juan Federico "Freddie Freak" Miguel Arguello Trujillo and Jose Esteban Ortega, CU-Boulder and Pueblo activists; the papers of Louie Luggs Garcia, Pueblo UFW, education and environmental racism activist; theUnited Mexican American Students, and the Deborah Martinez Martinez Papers which contain her interviews with Colorado Chicano leaders and Chicano newsletter.  There are currently finding aids online for 23 collections.

Colorado Chicano Movement Archives Advocates

The Colorado Chicano Movement Archives Advocates (CCMAA) is a volunteer organization dedicated to preserving and promoting the invaluable history and legacy of the Colorado Chicano Movement.

The Mission of the Advocates: To further the goals of the Colorado State University-Pueblo University Archives in acquiring, preserving, and making accessible records, films, photographs, and other items relating to the history of the Colorado Chicano Movement; in promoting the Colorado Chicano Movement collections; and in educating the wider community about the history and significance of the Chicano Movement in Colorado.

Specifically, the group will:

  • Assist the Archives in acquiring important documents, films, photographs, and other records that are important to the understanding and interpretation of the Chicano Movement in Colorado;
  • Assist the Archives in raising funds for the preservation and digitization of acquisitions;
  • Sponsor events that celebrate and educate the community about the Chicano Movement in Colorado;
  • Provide voluntary services under the direction of the University Archivist

Organization: The CCMAA, a volunteer group, will be organized in the following manner.