Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the University Library's Chicano Studies Resource Page! Use the tabs above to help you locate reference sources, books, journals, newspaper articles, websites, and more for your Chicano studies classes. New materials will be listed in the middle and library updates can be found below. Let me know if you have suggestions by leaving a comment here or contacting me directly.
The Pueblo, Colorado alternative Chicano newspaper, La Cucaracha, is now online and searchable at the Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection site. La Cucaracha was published from 1976-1983 and is a gold mine of information about the Colorado Chicano movement. Check it out!
Chicano Database includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books, and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics, and sociology.
A product of the Chicano Movement: Virgilio Licona, MD by
Call Number : ARCHIVES F785.M5 L5 2016
Publication Date: 2016
2 videodiscs. A documentary on the life and contributions of Dr. Virgilio Licona as a Chicano activist and health care professional. This documentary portrays his contributions to the Community Health Center movement from the period of the early 1970's to the present time in Colorado. Dr. Licona was able to identify the health disparities of his community and problem solved to fulfill the needs. This educational DVD and study guide will be used to inform minority students who may be interested in the history of how Community Health has evolved and Dr. Licona's role in the Community Health Center movement.
The Chicano Generation by
Call Number : Ebook
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
In The Chicano Generation, veteran Chicano civil rights scholar Mario T. García provides a rare look inside the struggles of the 1960s and 1970s as they unfolded in Los Angeles. Based on in-depth interviews conducted with three key activists, this book illuminates the lives of Raul Ruiz, Gloria Arellanes, and Rosalio Muñoz--their family histories and widely divergent backgrounds; the events surrounding their growing consciousness as Chicanos; the sexism encountered by Arellanes; and the aftermath of their political histories. In his substantial introduction, García situates the Chicano movement in Los Angeles and contextualizes activism within the largest civil rights and empowerment struggle by Mexican Americans in US history--a struggle that featured César Chávez and the farm workers, the student movement highlighted by the 1968 LA school blowouts, the Chicano antiwar movement, the organization of La Raza Unida Party, the Chicana feminist movement, the organizing of undocumented workers, and the Chicano Renaissance. Weaving this revolution against a backdrop of historic Mexican American activism from the 1930s to the 1960s and the contemporary black power and black civil rights movements, García gives readers the best representations of the Chicano generation in Los Angeles.
The Chicano Movement by
Call Number : Ebook
Publication Date: 2014-04-11
The largest social movement by people of Mexican descent in the U.S. to date, the Chicano Movement of the 1960s and 70s linked civil rights activism with a new, assertive ethnic identity: Chicano Power! Beginning with the farmworkers' struggle led by César Chávez and Dolores Huerta, the Movement expanded to urban areas throughout the Southwest, Midwest and Pacific Northwest, as a generation of self-proclaimed Chicanos fought to empower their communities. Recently, a new generation of historians has produced an explosion of interesting work on the Movement. The Chicano Movement: Perspectives from the Twenty-First Century collects the various strands of this research into one readable collection, exploring the contours of the Movement while disputing the idea of it being one monolithic group. Bringing the story up through the 1980s, The Chicano Movement introduces students to the impact of the Movement, and enables them to expand their understanding of what it means to be an activist, a Chicano, and an American.
Making Aztlán by
Call Number : E184.M5 G624 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
This book provides a long-needed overview of the Chicana and Chicano movement's social history as it grew, flourished, and then slowly fragmented. The authors examine the movement's origins in the 1960s and 1970s, showing how it evolved from a variety of organizations and activities united in their quest for basic equities for Mexican Americans in U.S. society. Within this matrix of agendas, objectives, strategies, approaches, ideologies, and identities, numerous electrifying moments stitched together the struggle for civil and human rights. Gomez-Quinones and Vasquez show how these convergences underscored tensions among diverse individuals and organizations at every level. Their narrative offers an assessment of U.S. society and the Mexican American community at a critical time, offering a unique understanding of its civic progress toward a more equitable social order."
Latino Civil Rights in Education by
Call Number : Ebook
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
Latino Civil Rights in Education: La Lucha Siguedocuments the experiences of historical and contemporary advocates in the movement for civil rights in education of Latinos in the United States. These critical narratives and counternarratives discuss identity, inequality, desegregation, policy, public school, bilingual education, higher education, family engagement, and more, comprising an ongoing effort to improve the conditions of schooling for Latino children. Featuring the perspectives and research of Latino educators, sociologists, historians, attorneys, and academics whose lives were guided by this movement, the book holds broad applications in the study and continuation of social justice and activism today.
The last conquistador [videorecording] by
Call Number : DISPLAY 1ST FLOOR - NB235.E4 L37 2008 DVD
Publication Date: 2008
"The renowned sculptor John Houser has a dream to build the world's tallest bronze equestrian statue for the city of El Paso, Texas. It would memorialize the Spanish conquistador Juan de Oñate and honor the contributions Hispanic people have made to the building of the American West. But as the project nears completion his troubles begin: Native Americans are outraged, they remember Oñate as the man who brought genocide, cut off their feet, and sold their children into slavery. As El Paso divides along lines of race and class, the artist must face the terrible moral implications of his work."--Container.