Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

*Chicano Studies: Primary Sources at CSU-Pueblo, Colorado Chicano Movement Archives

Guide to books, articles and other research materials for Chicano Studies

Colorado Chicano Movement Archives

The Colorado Chicano Movement Archives is part of the CSU-Pueblo Archives and contains manuscripts, audiovisual, oral histories with Colorado activists and printed material related to the movement's activities in Colorado. Part of a greater national and international struggle challenging social injustice during the 1960s and 70s, the Chicano Movement was an engine for change and had a significant impact on the United States’ system of government. While providing a powerful impetus for transformation in the public education system, electoral politics, labor practices, and law and order policies, the movement also nurtured a cultural renaissance inChicano art and literature.

The CCMA comprises 20+ individual collections from Chicano activists and organizations including the papers of Juan Federico "Freddie Freak" Miguel Arguello Trujillo and Jose Esteban Ortega, CU-Boulder and Pueblo activists; the papers of Louie Luggs Garcia, Pueblo UFW, education and environmental racism activist; theUnited Mexican American Students, and the Deborah Martinez Martinez Papers which contain her interviews with Colorado Chicano leaders and Chicano newsletter.  There are currently finding aids online for 23 collections.

For more information, contact Beverly Allen, University Archivist at beverly.allen@csupueblo.edu or 719-549-2475.  The Archives is located on the 6th floor of the library.

Colorado Chicano Movement Archives Advocates

Colorado Chicano Movement Archives Advocates (CCMAA)

 

The CCMAA is a volunteer organization dedicated to preserving and promoting the invaluable history and legacy of the Colorado Chicano Movement.

The Mission of the Advocates: To further the goals of the Colorado State University-Pueblo University Archives in acquiring, preserving, and making accessible records, films, photographs, and other items relating to the history of the Colorado Chicano Movement; in promoting the Colorado Chicano Movement collections; and in educating the wider community about the history and significance of the Chicano Movement in Colorado.

Specifically, the group will:

  • Assist the Archives to acquire important documents, films, photographs, and other records that are important to the understanding and interpretation of Chicano Movement in Colorado;
  • Assist the Archives to raise funds for the preservation and digitization of acquisitions;
  • Sponsor events that celebrate and educate the community about the Chicano Movement in Colorado;
  • Provide voluntary services under the direction of the University Archivist

Organization: The CCMAA, a volunteer group, will be organized in the following manner.

Membership: New members would be proposed by the current leadership of the group and the final membership approved by the Dean of the Library.
6 members of the community
2 members of the University community
University Archivist
Dean of Library Services (ex-officio)

Leadership:
The members of the Advocates would elect a Chair and Secretary each year.

Non-Profit Status:
As a volunteer group, this committee would not have any official non-profit status. Any funds raised could be received under the auspices of the CSU-Pueblo Foundation on behalf of the Archives.

 

CSU-Pueblo Archives Collection Policy

University Archives and Special Collections

Collection Policy

 

  1. Introduction

 

The Colorado State University-Pueblo's University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) is a part of the University Library System. Its mission is:

 

  • To collect, preserve and make accessible materials that document all aspects of the University community.

 

  • To collect, preserve and make accessible materials that document local and regional history, particularly materials related to historically underrepresented groups.

 

  1. Mission and purpose

 

The mission of the Archives is as follows:

 

  • To appraise, collect, organize, preserve, and provide access to archival materials which document the history of Colorado State University-Pueblo and the ethnic heritage and diversity of Southern Colorado

 

  • To provide appropriate conditions and facilities for the retention, protection, and preservation of such records.

 

  • To provide regular reference services and access to individuals, organizations, or other groups interested in the collections.

 

  • To encourage the use of the collection and to increase the public awareness and appreciation of said archival materials through the website, educational programming, publications, exhibitions and a variety of other outreach programs.

 

  1. Subject Scope

           

            In order to maintain focus, the Department collects and preserves materials in       the subject areas listed below. Exceptions to this policy are made on a case by       case basis by the University Archivist.

            Archives and Manuscripts

 

  1. Subjects collected:

 

The primary focus will be on collecting materials relating to all aspects of the Colorado State University-Pueblo and its previous incarnations, and archival materials relating to the ethnic heritage and diversity of Southern Colorado.

 

Of secondary importance will be acquiring the following:

 

  • Archival materials relating to the Chicano Movement in other parts of the United States.

 

  • Archival materials relating to individuals and organizations of local and regional significance, especially those which complement existing collections. 

 

  1. Geographic Areas of Collecting: 

 

The primary focus will be Southern Colorado.

 

Other regions will be considered depending upon their relevance to the scope of the primary and secondary collection areas. 

 

  1. Chronological Periods Collected:

 

20th  and 21st centuries. 

 

  1. Forms of Material Collected:

 

The University Archives and Special Collections contains, and will acquire, materials in all formats, including manuscripts, archives, maps, photographs, films and videos, sound recordings, digital files and printed matter.

 

The archives may also collect artworks and artifacts on a case-by-case basis, as determined by the collecting areas stated above.

 

  1.  Oral History Program:

 

The University Archives and Special Collections establishes standards for the conduct of oral history, teaches instructional classes on oral history procedures, tips and techniques, and facilitates the interview process by working with academic departments and their students.

 

UASC collects, preserves and disseminates the interviews conducted by students and faculty according to accepted archival standards.

 

 

 

 

F.    Exclusions:

 

The University Archives and Special Collections will generally not accept  material outside the collection guidelines.  

 

Rare Books/Special Collections

 

A.  Subjects collected:

 

The primary focus will be on collecting rare books relating to:

  • Western Americana, both fiction and non-fiction
  • Selected publications of the university, its faculty and students

These shall include, but not be limited to catalogs, catalogs, directories, student publications, reports of key administrative units, etc.

Faculty publications not deposited in the Institutional Repository

Theses not deposited in the Institutional Repository

Student papers and projects if particularly relevant to the mission of USAC, for example:  student documentary films based on oral history interviews

  • Ethnic heritage and diversity of Southern Colorado, for example:  ethnic newspapers
  • Secondary materials which support research into primary resources held by USAC

 

Of secondary importance are the following:

 

  • Local and regional history, if it complements existing collections.
  • Art and special press books

 

B.  Geographic Areas of Collecting: 

 

The primary focus will be Southern Colorado.

 

Other regions will be considered depending upon their relevance to the scope of the primary and secondary collection areas. 

 

C.  Chronological Periods Collected:

 

19th century and later

 

D.  Forms of Material Collected:

 

The University Archives and Special Collections contains, and will acquire, materials in all formats, including manuscripts, archives, maps, photographs, films and videos, sound recordings, digital files and printed matter.

 

The archives may also collect artworks and artifacts on a case-by-case basis, as determined by the collecting areas stated above.

 

E.  Transfers from General Collection:

 

Retention of materials in and transfers of materials to the collection may involve assessment of multiple factors.  Consultation with selector may be necessary as per the following guidelines.

 

Age

 

  • Volumes before 1801 are automatically added to the collection

 

Intrinsic

 

  • Miniature books under 10 cm will be added to the collection dependent upon market value, condition and topic.  
  • Fine bindings
  • Early publishers’ bindings
  • Extra-illustrated volumes
  • Books with significant provenance, i.e. Alva Adams, O’Brien, Taylor
  • Books with decorated endpapers
  • Fine printing
  • Printing on vellum or highly unusual paper
  • Volumes or portfolios containing unbound plates
  • Books with valuable maps or plates
  • Broadsides, posters and printed ephemera
  • Books by local authors of particular note
  • Material requiring security( e.g. books in unusual formats, erotica or materials that are difficult to replace)              
  • Association copies
  • First edition of notable authors
  • Signed books by notable authors
  • Notable people  who attended or were employed by CSU-Pueblo

 

Condition

 

While age itself dictates transfer for books dated prior to 1801, condition may be more important in judging more recent material.  Copies that are badly worn, much repaired or rebound, should not automatically be considered for transfer, unless the age of the material preempts condition as a criterion. 

 

Bibliographical, research or market value

 

  • Desirability to collectors and the antiquarian book trade
  • Intrinsic or extrinsic evidence of censorship or repression
  • Seminal nature or importance to a particular field of study or genre of literature
  • Restricted or limited publication
  • The cost of acquisition, $500+ (value recommended by RBMS)
  • Works published in very limited editions (50 copies or fewer)
  • Market Value – $250+ (RBMS)

 

Other Criteria

 

Publications of the following types will not generally be added to Special Collections but may be if in a primary subject collecting area.  Materials in these categories will require review by selector for transfer to or from Special Collections.  If not retained in Special Collections and not chosen for relocation in other collections, materials will be withdrawn.

 

  • Colorado presses
  • Presentation copies
  • 1st edition or autographed copies by authors who are not notable
  • Bound or loose serial issues
  • Facsimiles

 

Only one copy will be maintained in Special Collections; multiple copies will require a review for exception by the Head of Special Collections.   The best copy is retained in Special Collections.

 

Reference materials placed in Special Collections will require review by the Head of Special Collections; some reference materials may duplicate what is in the general collections.

 

The University Archives and Special Collections will generally not accept  material outside the collection guidelines.  

 

  1. Clientele

 

The Archives will make materials available to all researchers on equal terms, subject to the Colorado State University-Pueblo University Archives and Special Collections Access and Use Policy.

 

  1.  Authenticity, Integrity and Security

 

The university archivist and library staff strive to preserve and protect the authenticity of records and collections in their holdings by documenting their use in hard copy and electronic formats. The archives has a fundamental obligation to preserve the intellectual and physical integrity of said collections. CSU-Pueblo  staff will not alter, manipulate, or destroy data or records to conceal facts or distort evidence. Furthermore, the CSU-Pueblo staff will protect all materials for which they are responsible and guard against defacement, physical damage, deterioration, and theft. The staff of CSU-Pueblo will cooperate with colleagues and law enforcement agencies to apprehend and prosecute thieves and vandals and will uphold all federal, state, and local laws.

 

  1. Deaccessions

 

Materials that do not contribute to the Colorado State University-Pueblo University Archives and Special Collections’ mission may be subject to removal.  This includes materials that do not reflect the collecting areas of CSU-Pueblo, duplicates and items that are too badly deteriorated to be maintained.  Items thus designated may be returned to the original donors, conveyed to other archival repositories, sold or destroyed.  In all cases, donors’ wishes in this regard and as stated in relevant deeds of gift will be respected.  No personal gain resulting from deaccessioned material is to be realized by any individual having any affiliation with CSU-Pueblo.

 

7.   Cooperative Collection Development Efforts

      CSU-Pueblo will seek to work with other institutions involved in similar efforts, as appropriate.

 

Rev. 1/10/11

 

Past Events/Publicity

Memorandum of Understanding