Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Spanish Research: Getting Started

Bienvenido a la Guia de la Investigación Español!

Research in Spanish involves understanding and interpreting different genres; uses of rhetoric; applying theory and linguistics; and teaching it across all educational levels. Whether you're learning the language and culture, a Heritage speaker, or taking a class across specific authors, films, or a literary time period, you'll find a range of resources to support your learning.

Spanish Language and Culture Databases

Database Icons:

This database is free to use and does not require a login
This database contains primary sources

Recommended Databases

Below are a few selected Spanish language and culture databases. Visit the A-Z Databases list to find an expanded selection of subject-specific databases.

Academic Search Premier
Full-text articles, books, magazines, and videos for all major areas of academic research. Provided by Ebsco.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
Historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” from which the collection draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers—including rare anarchist newspapers—are presented in their original form.
Chicano Database
Includes records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books, and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics, and sociology.
Informe Academico (Gale OneFile)
Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.

Additional Research Guides

Below are a few selected research guides, which provide resources to help you begin your research. Visit the CSU Pueblo Research Guides page to find all our subject and course-connected research guides.

Discovery & Access: New Tools Research Guide
This guide will inform you of the various products from the Third Iron LibKey Complete Suite. These products are meant to help easily discover, access, and follow journals and articles.
eBooks
This guide aims to provide everything you need to know about eBooks at CSU-Pueblo! It is a work in progress.