Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: Research Tips &amp; Tricks: Citing Sources

Writing and Tutoring Services

CSU Pueblo Writing Center
Meet with a writing tutor and engage in a collaborative discussion about your writing and ways to improve it—by talking about matters like focus, development, organization, sentence structure, and punctuation. The writing room also provides help on citations.
Tutoring Services at CSU Pueblo
Walk-in tutoring and study groups for all majors.

Which citation style should I use?

If you don't know which citation style to use, ask your instructor which style is appropriate for research done in the discipline.

Generally, you can follow this rubric.

APA: psychology, education, social sciences

Chicago: history (campuswide online access to Chicago style)

MLA: literature, arts, humanities

Complete discipline listing
Listing from Purdue OWL. Consult your instructor to clarify which style is expected in the field.

APA, MLA, and Chicago: Online Style Manuals

The Purdue OWL: Research and Citation
Free online citation manuals for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Includes plenty of examples for both common and unusual references. From Purdue University.
APA Examples
Use the options on the left to find specific examples of citing using APA style.
Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS)
Use the options on the left to find citing using Chicago style.
MLA Style Examples
Use the options on the left to find specific examples of citing using MLA style.
APA Examples
This section of Cite Source includes specific examples of citing using APA style.
Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) Examples
This section of Cite Source includes specific examples of citing using Chicago style.
MLA Examples
This section of Cite Source includes specific examples of citing using MLA style.

Citation Manuals at the Library

MLA Handbook (8th edition)
The MLA Handbook is a guide for clear writing and proper citation format. It is commonly used in literary studies, as well as introductory writing courses.
A copy of the Handbook is available at the library circulation desk (1st floor) for 2 hour reserve use, and at the Research Help Desk for guided use.
APA Publication Manual
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition) is the style guide for most research in the social and human sciences.
A copy of the Manual is available at the library circulation desk (1st floor) for 2 hour reserve use, and at the Research Help Desk for guided use.
The Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition)
The Chicago Manual of Style, also referred to as Turabian, is most commonly used by historians, and it uses in-text or footnote citations. It is available online (off campus, log in with your network credentials)
A copy of the Manual is available at the library circulation desk (1st floor) for 2 hour reserve use, and at the Research Help Desk for guided use.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, by Kate L. Turabian, is a shortened guide for writing according to The Chicago Manual of Style. Use the two books together for projects in Chicago/Turabian style.
A copy of the Manual is available at the library circulation desk (1st floor) for 2 hour reserve use, and on the fifth floor at LB2369 .T8 2007
American Sociological Association Style Guide (5th edition)
The ASA Style Guide details the writing style for projects in sociology.
A copy of the Style Guide (5th edition) is available at the library circulation desk (1st floor) for 2 hour reserve use, and the 4th edition is at the Research Help Desk for guided use.

Citation Managers

Citation managers create personal databases of citation information as well as notes on your research. With a citation manager, you can

import citation information from databases, article indexes, and other sources
organize your citations and pdfs
save .pdfs alongside their citation information
format your citations in a particular style (MLA, APA, Chicago, and numerous others), and incorporate those citations easily in your paper
take notes and include them alongside citations

Thumbnail

CSU-Pueblo students, faculty, and staff have free access to EndNote Web. You will need to Sign up for an account to save and manage citations.

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Store and organize citations and automatically generate a works cited page. Requires you to make an EndNote account.

Need help using EndNote? Check out the tutorial below, or register for the library's "Citing Made Simple with EndNote Web" research workshop. Also check out the Cite While You Write tutorial.

An introduction to EndNote Web
Capture Tool
Use this tool to import citations from Google Scholar into EndNote.

Other citation managers are available online for free use. At CSU-Pueblo, these resources are yours to use; however, the library does not provide support for them.

Thumbnail

Zotero
This is a free, open-source product, which allows you to collect your sources, organize them per your preferences, cite them in a paper, and share them with co-researchers.
Zotero Support
Get help with Zotero, both as a web client and a desktop application.
Zotero basics workshop

Mendeley
A free reference manager, Mendeley helps you create a fully-searchable library, network with other scholars, and read, annotate, and store PDFs.
Mendeley Support
Mendeley offers a community of support for getting started and troubleshooting technical difficulties.
Getting started with Mendeley

Need to quickly grab the citation for a book or article? Use the "citation" button in SuperSearch or click on EndNote to send the citation to a citation management tool.

Remember: The cite button is not foolproof. Always double-check the citation before submitting your final paper.

In SuperSearch, you'll find the citation button in the Send To menu: