Guide to primary sources

Contains 2,000+ authors and 100,000+ pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs written during the Civil War.

Published and unpublished works by 400+ authors. Search by historical event or life experience. Includes digital reproduction and full-text transcription of the Black Panther newspaper, and oral histories from authors, artists, and activists.

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.

Access to digital collections of primary sources that document the history of women in the U.S. 700+ collections on topics ranging from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers in the 1970s.

Free access to digitized primary materials of Southern perspectives on American history and culture. Includes written first-person narratives, oral histories, images, music, religious pamphlets, and government documents.

Open access database of more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States. Considered one of the nation’s great archives in the Revolutionary, early national, antebellum, and Civil War periods.

Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information about immigration between 1800 and 1950.

Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.

Personal narratives, correspondence, and visual materials representing first-hand accounts of U.S. Veterans from 1914-present.