Guide to primary sources

Early American newspapers, published between 1690 and 1876.

This collection houses the largest and most accessible collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States.

Open access collection of America's historic newspaper pages, dating from 1789-1963. Or, use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

500,000+ digitized pages from 163 newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923.

Songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera from the late nineteenth century, with video interviews with scholars and critical essays. Covers themes of race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women's suffrage from the end of the Civil War to Theodore Roosevelt's presidency (1865-1901).

The "Lost Friends" column, which ran from the paper's 1877 inception well into the first decade of the twentieth century, featured messages from individuals searching for loved ones lost in slavery. This searchable database provides access to more than 1,200 advertisements that appeared in the Southwestern Christian Advocate between November 1879 through 1885.

Digitized pages and clipped articles from hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, including news items, advertisements, and illustrations. Colorado newspaper coverage is from the mid-1860s-1890s.

Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. These documents are derived from the CIA archives and are searchable by name, organization, state and urban locales, and event. Covers the period 1941-1996.

Published and unpublished works by 400+ authors. Search by historical event or life experience. Includes digital reproduction and full-text transcription of the Black Panther newspaper, and oral histories from authors, artists, and activists.

Open access collection of America's historic newspaper pages, dating from 1789-1963. Or, use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

500,000+ digitized pages from 163 newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923.

Research issues of the New York Times as originally published—with advertisements and other marginalia. From 2008–present. Most recent 3 months not available.

World's leading financial newspaper with comprehensive coverage with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008–present. Most recent 3 months not available.

Bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press (1990-present).

Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. These documents are derived from the CIA archives and are searchable by name, organization, state and urban locales, and event. Covers the period 1941-1996.

Primary sources from early America (1639-1800).

Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.