Open access

A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from 100+ research libraries. Contains 13.7 million+ volumes and is full-text searchable.

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building a webpage for every book ever published. Open Library account holders can borrow eBooks from the growing collection.

Open access search engine for thousands of texts, images, audio files, video files, ebooks, primary sources, and other resources digitized by libraries and other organizations in the United States.

7,000+ U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda (1911-1955).

Provides high-resolution, searchable images of archaeological sites for teaching, research, and publication. Covers the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, including Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa, and Spain. Chronologically, ranges from Alexander the Great (300 B.C.E.) to the present.

Public image collections that cover a range of topics including American history, Ancient Egyptian papyrology, Asian languages and cultures, architecture, archives and manuscripts, film, and poetry.

An online archive of digital images from Colorado and the West.

The Library on Congress has a huge collection of digital images. You can browse by collection or search by keyword.

Gateway to digital reproductions and descriptions of photographs, posters, drawings, objects, ephemera, and manuscripts as well as other archival material from Columbia's rare and special collections.

Freely available images from the UK National Archives, including digitized maps, letters, documents, newspapers, and political cartoons.

700,000 citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

40,000+ volumes related to the history, language, literature, and material culture of the ancient world from the Mediterranean to China, currently in the process of being digitized.

Free digital images for the study of the ancient world.

Provides high-resolution, searchable images of archaeological sites for teaching, research, and publication. Covers the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, including Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa, and Spain. Chronologically, ranges from Alexander the Great (300 B.C.E.) to the present.

A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from 100+ research libraries. Contains 13.7 million+ volumes and is full-text searchable.

Public image collections that cover a range of topics including American history, Ancient Egyptian papyrology, Asian languages and cultures, architecture, archives and manuscripts, film, and poetry.

Collection of texts from the Graeco-Roman world.

A growing consortium of libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. Searches multiple repositories and links to member institutions.

Free access to digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, politics, diplomacy and government, spanning from 4000 BCE to the 21st century.

Access to digital collections of primary sources that document the history of women in the U.S. 700+ collections on topics ranging from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers in the 1970s.

Public image collections that cover a range of topics including American history, Ancient Egyptian papyrology, Asian languages and cultures, architecture, archives and manuscripts, film, and poetry.

500,000+ digitized pages from 163 newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923.

Open access collection of 4,000+ promotional recipe pamphlets, published mainly by food and appliance manufacturers and trade associations. Dating from the late 19th century to the present, this advertising ephemera reflects the evolution of the modern American diet. Of particular interest is the time period from 1880–1930, when industrialization gave rise to the modern food industry.

Open access database of thousands of e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.

Collected set of facts, analyses, and conclusions resulting from scientific, technical, and related engineering research and development efforts, both basic and applied. Open access.

Contains hundreds of full text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.