Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: Open access: Find open access articles

Overview

The repositories listed on this page primarily archive full-text scholarly articles, monographs, and theses and dissertations.

A list of open data repositories can be found on the data management guide.
Open image collections, digitized books, and primary sources can be found on the Find primary sources page.

Directories

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Aggregates information about open access monographs from academic publishers to increase discoverability of open access books.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Community-curated list of quality, peer-reviewed open access journals.
Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)
Authoritative directory of academic open access repositories, with searching tools across repositories.
Open Access Directory
Compedium of lists about open access repositories, journals, business models, publishers, public policies, and other trends in open access.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) This link opens in a new window
One of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources, with about 60% of articles available for free (Open Access).

Multidisciplinary repositories

Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
Millions of records representing resources harvested from open access collections worldwide.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) This link opens in a new window
Aggregates peer-reviewed open access publications from across Europe.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Indexed collection of more than 3.3 million theses and dissertations from 1,100+ colleges and universities.
ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources This link opens in a new window
Free access to journals, conference proceedings, and academic repositories content.
Open Access Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Free access to over 12,000 full-text scholarly journals in a variety of subjects, from the Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries. Also known as Gold Rush.

Science and engineering

Aquatic Commons This link opens in a new window
Digital, open access repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments. Includes scientific, technological, management and conservation aspects of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access database of thousands of e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing over 100,000 titles and over 170,000 volumes. Open access.
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries' digitization of legacy literature of biodiversity, available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
BioOne Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Note: Some articles are open access; others require a subscription.
IDEAS This link opens in a new window
Largest bibliographic database for economics (based on RePEc) indexing more than 1.9 million open access, full text articles.
OceanDocs This link opens in a new window
Repository of publications on marine science, including preprints, published articles, technical reports, and working papers. Supported by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission.
National Centers for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Literature This link opens in a new window
Directory of NCBI databases, including Bookshelf (biomedical books), MeSH, toolkits, and medical genetics. Open access.
AgEcon This link opens in a new window
Free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papersm conference papers, and journal articles.
PubAg This link opens in a new window
Portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.
GenBank This link opens in a new window
The NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all open access DNA sequences

Health sciences

HighWire This link opens in a new window
Over 2 million full text open access articles, focused on the medical and biological sciences, as well as select titles in physical and social sciences.
PeerJ This link opens in a new window
Online publishing platform of biological, medical, and computer sciences research. Open access.

Humanities and social sciences

Open Humanities Press This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed monographs and journals in the humanities.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The SSRN eLibrary has two parts: an abstract database containing abstracts on more than 682,000 scholarly working papers, and an electronic paper collection containing more than 572,000 full text papers, browsable by subject area.