Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Science Research: Wildlife and Natural Resource Management

Wildlife and Natural Resources Management Research

USFWS Conservation Library This link opens in a new window
Publications made available from the US Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS). Open access.
BioOne Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Note: Some articles are open access; others require a subscription.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Content from journals, books, patents, and meetings in the areas of life sciences, biomedicine, preclinical and experimental research
Searchable by BIOSIS indexing, MESH (Medical Subject Headings), and CAS registry numbers (a unique numerical identifier assigned by the Chemical Abstracts Service to every chemical substance).
PubMed (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
26 million+ citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. May include links to full-text content. Open access.
Science and Technology Databases This link opens in a new window
10 databases including Biological Sciences; Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology; Environmental Science Collection, along with others
More complete list: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Sciences; Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management;ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection; Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology; Environmental Science Collection; and Zoological Record Plus, along with others.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Find More Reference Resources
Search for reference materials in the CSU Libraries SuperSearch by typing keywords that relate to both the topic and type of information source that you wish to find, such as "encyclopedia of biodiversity." Then select the "Books/eBooks" limiter on the left-side of the screen under source type.

Data Carpentry develops and teaches workshops on the fundamental data skills needed to conduct research.

Data Carpentry Lessons
Self-paced workshops on data cleaning, management, analysis, and visualization for ecology, genomics, geospatial, and biology (semester-long) data.
Ecology Workshop
This workshop uses a tabular ecology dataset from the Portal Project Teaching Database and teaches data cleaning, management, analysis and visualization. There are no pre-requisites, and the materials assume no prior knowledge about the tools. We use a single dataset throughout the workshop to model the data management and analysis workflow that a researcher would use.