Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Art Research: Getting Started

Art Classes

	Art Club The club organizes field trips in and out of state, hosts the student art show, promotes the art department, and provides a social arena for art students.
	Art Department The mission of the Department of Art is to prepare the student to be a practicing artist, to enter graduate school for further professional education or to enter the job market in art related careers.

The library has a great collection of art books and databases.

Find primary accounts of exhibitions and critiques of works using these databases. Be sure to limit by date.

Biblioteque Nationale Gallica
Yes, it's in French. Begin typing your term in English, then use the French term that comes up either under the search box, or within results. Includes museum catalogs.
INHA: Institut national d'histoire de l'art
Again, with the French. But a good source for images.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Contains current and past issues of 2,300+ journals.
New York Times 1851–2017 This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events (1851-2008).

Now where's that book? Don't bother me, I'm reading.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-read encyclopedia with more than 25,000 entries, including brief biographies. 2016 edition.

The following offer sources outside of Art theory and history.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
495,000+ abstracts from scholarly journals and books covering the fifteen fields of philosophy (1940-present).
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization, especially in the disciplines of economics, political science, race and gender studies, intellectual history, media studies, psychology and philosophy.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from "core" sociology journals dating back to 1895, and "priority" sociology journals. Also includes 500+ full-text books and monographs and 6,000+ conference papers.

MLibrary Image Collections This link opens in a new window
Public image collections that cover a range of topics including American history, Ancient Egyptian papyrology, Asian languages and cultures, architecture, archives and manuscripts, film, and poetry.