Skip to Main Content

EDUCATION 351: Children's Literature

This course guide serves as a research tool for students enrolled in EDUCATION 351: Children's Literature at Colorado State University Pueblo. Select a tab on the left side of the screen in order to access pages covering different research related topics.

Literature Databases

Your best choices in finding literature related materials are the following databases:

ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (Ebsco platform)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. It provides access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Contains current and past issues of 2,300+ journals.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) w/ Full Text
560+ core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals plus books, research reports and proceedings.
MLA International Bibliography
International coverage of articles, book chapters, and dissertation citations about literary works, theory, language, and folklore.
NoveList
A comprehensive reader’s advisory resource. Curriculum resource.

Review Journals

The following journals review children's books and feature current topics in the field of children's literature:

Reading Teacher
Full-text available from 1990 to 1 year ago. Previous years available in print at CSU-Pueblo.
Booklist
Full-text available from 2002-present.
The Horn Book Magazine
Full-text available from 1990-present. Some years available in print.
Kirkus Reviews
Full-text available from 2001-present.
School Library Journal
Full-text available from 1974-present.

Book Lists & Child Lit Resources (Books)

Here is a small sampling of books containing recommended book lists and information about children's literature.

Children's Literature in the Elementary School by Charlotte S. Huck
Call Number : LB1575 .H88 1976
Children's Literature: a reader's history, from Aesop to Harry Potter by Seth Lerer
Call Number : ONLINE
Multicultural and Ethnic Children's Literature in the United States by Donna L. Gilton
Call Number : Z1039.M56 G55 2007
Multicultural Plays for Children Grades K-3 by Pamela Gerke
Call Number : PS3557.E67 M8 1996

ISBN: 1575250055

Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Stories Matter by Dana L. Fox (Editor); Kathy Gnagey Short (Editor)
Call Number : PS490 .S74 2003

ISBN: 9780814147443

Publication Date: 2003-10-01

Reference Books

The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English by Victor Watson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001
Keywords for Children's Literature by Philip Nel (Editor); Lissa Paul (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011

Book Lists & Child Lit Resources (Ebooks)

Here is a small sampling of ebooks containing recommended book lists and information about children's literature.

Gentle Reads: great books to warm hearts and lift spirits, grades 5-9 by Deanna J. McDaniel
Gotcha Again for Guys! More nonfiction books to get boys excited about reading by Kathleen A. Baxter; Marcia Agness Kochel
Gotcha Good! Nonfiction books to get kids excited about reading by Kathleen A. Baxter; Marcia Agness Kochel
Read with Me by Stephanie Zvirin
ISBN: 1937589072

Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Informational Picture Books for Children by Patricia J. Cianciolo
ISBN: 9780585317533

Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Booktalking Around the World: great global reads for ages 9-14 by Sonja Cole
Reid's Read-Alouds (ePDF) by Rob Reid
ISBN: 9780838990582

Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Junior Genreflecting by Bridget Dealy Volz; Cheryl Perkins Scheer; Lynda Welborn
ISBN: 9780585333526

Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Last Updated: Aug 20, 2025 9:00 AM
URL: https://guides.library.csupueblo.edu/childrenslit
Print Page

Subjects: Children's Literature, Early Childhood Education, Education