Skip to Main Content

*Art Research

This research guide provides a starting point for art research and helps you locate and evaluate a variety of sources, including art reproductions, exhibition catalogs, and scholarly works.

Art Journals

Below are a few selected art journals. Visit the Arts, Architecture & Applied Arts list from the "Journals by category" section to find an expanded selection of subject-specific journals.

SuperSearch - Journal Searching

Beginning a Search

  1. While in SuperSearch, you can search for journals in the Journal Search option. In the search bar, type in the journal title or ISSN, or the subject topic in the search box. Then, click on the magnifying glass to search for the journal.
  2. Another option to search is using the Journals by category dropdown menu on the left toolbar to browse journals based on the category. Although this is a broader search, it can be helpful if you are searching for similar journals on a topic.
  3. If needed, in the left-hand toolbar, go to the Show Only section and click on the checkbox area for the Online at CSU-Pueblo and Peer-reviewed Journals options. Then, at the bottom of the toolbar, click on Apply Filters.

Screenshot of a blank SuperSearch Journal Search option, which also has two highlight boxes. The first highlight box is around the middle blank search bar, showing where to search by typing in the journal title, ISSN, or subject topic. The second highlight box is around the title of the left toolbar, Journals by category. Using the Journals by category toolbar provides a broader search for journals compared to the search bar.

The Results

  1. The search results will indicate at a glance if the title is available in print, online, or both. For more information, click the title to see the citation information, locations, and which databases provide access to that journal. 
  2. To access the journal from a database, scroll down to the View Online section. This will list each database that has full text available, including the date range that can be accessed in that database.
  3. If you want to access a physical copy of the journal,  scroll down to the Find a Copy section, and in the Locations section is a list of which library has the journal, the call number, and a Locate link to guide you to the correct shelf.

Screenshot of an example journal’s SuperSearch information tab. To highlight the areas where to access a journal, there are two highlight boxes. The first is at the top of the image, around the example journal’s title, Childhood education (online), citation information, the peer-reviewed icon, and the Online access link. If this journal were on the shelves of the library, this section would provide the Library of Congress call numbers.  The second highlight box is at the bottom of the screenshot, around the View Online section. This section provides a list of links to which database or databases have access to the journal. Under the database link is a list of dates that indicate the timeframe during which the database has access to the articles. If this were a physical journal, this section would be titled Location and would provide a list of which library has the journals and the call numbers.

  • To help you provide the reference citation for the journal, scroll to the Send To section and click on Citation. Remember to double-check this citation because there might be some mistakes. 

Special Note: Although the Morgan Library is at the Fort Collins campus, the journal can be brought down to the Pueblo campus.  

A screenshot of the example journal’s information tab shows three highlight boxes and directional arrows pointing to locations that provide reference citations for the article. To use this feature, go to the Send To section and click the Citation button, which is marked with a quote symbol above the text citation. To indicate this, the citation button in the screenshot is surrounded by a highlight box and an arrow. After clicking the button, a new menu appears below the Send To section buttons. On the left side, there is a list of popular citation styles: MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and Harvard, with a highlight box around the current selection. On the right side, SuperSearch displays the generated citation, which varies depending on the selected style. To copy the citation, click the button labeled 'Copy Citation to Clipboard' located beneath the citation, which is also highlighted in the screenshot.