Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: WS 101: Introduction to Women's Studies: Resources

Background information

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender [Online] by Judith Worell (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Gender covers gender differences, the "Psychology of Women" and the "Psychology of Men", discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
Women's Studies: The Basics [Online] by Bonnie G. Smith
An introduction to the ever-expanding and increasingly relevant field of studies focused on women. Tracing the history of the discipline from its origins, this text sets out the main agendas of women's studies and feminism, exploring the global development of the subject over time, and highlighting its relevance in the contemporary world.
Women in Culture [Online] by Bonnie Kime Scott, Susan E. Cayleff, Anne Donadey, Irene Lara (Editors)
Women in Culture explores the intersections of gender, race, sexuality, gender identity, and spirituality from the perspectives of diverse global locations.

Videos and documentaries

TED Talks on Women
Collection of TED talks on women and business, health, humanitarianism, and sports.
Kanopy Gender Studies collection
650+ streaming films and documentaries on gender roles and identity, feminism, sexuality, and media representation.

Books and ebooks

Where are the books on women's studies?

The CSU-Pueblo Women's Studies Collection is a growing set of timely books on sex roles, feminism, gender, and identity. It is located on the 4th floor of the LARC.

How do I search for books on women's studies?

Outside of the Women's Studies Collection, the books you need may be found in any number of sections. Combined searches can help limit your search results. For example:

women AND media AND representation
feminism AND politics
feminis* AND (sports OR athletics)

SuperSearch This link opens in a new window
The CSU Pueblo Library has electronic access to millions of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, magazine and newspaper articles, streaming videos, ebooks, and primary sources. The Library also has a large collection of print books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and maps.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A single catalog containing all of the books, journals, and videos, collected from hundreds of libraries worldwide. Request items not owned by CSU-Pueblo and have them delivered to the library here.

Articles, critical essays, and reviews

Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Popular Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from "core" sociology journals dating back to 1895, and "priority" sociology journals. Also includes 500+ full-text books and monographs and 6,000+ conference papers.

Search for more articles, critical essays, and reviews on women's studies