Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Women's Studies Research: Resources

Background information

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender [Online] by Judith Worell (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Gender covers gender differences, the "Psychology of Women" and the "Psychology of Men", discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
The SAGE Handbook of Feminist Theory [Online] by Mary Evans, Marsha Henry, Hazel Johnstone, Sumi Madhok, Ania Plomien, Sadie Wearing, Clare Hemmings (Editors)
With a focus on theory and theorizing about the world in which we live, this Handbook asks us, across all disciplines and situations, to abandon our taken-for-granted assumptions about the world and interrogate both the origin and the implications of our ideas about gender relations and feminism.
Women's Studies: The Basics [Online] by Bonnie G. Smith
An introduction to the ever-expanding and increasingly relevant field of studies focused on women. Tracing the history of the discipline from its origins, this text sets out the main agendas of women's studies and feminism, exploring the global development of the subject over time, and highlighting its relevance in the contemporary world.
Women in American Society [Online]
Explores the lives of women in American society. Includes information on women's demographic trends, educational achievements, employment, financial status, parental responsibilities, political roles, victimization, and health issues.
Women in Culture [Online] by Bonnie Kime Scott, Susan E. Cayleff, Anne Donadey, Irene Lara (Editors)
Women in Culture explores the intersections of gender, race, sexuality, gender identity, and spirituality from the perspectives of diverse global locations.

Reports

Global Gender Gap Report [2016]
The World Economic Forum quantifies the magnitude of gender disparities and tracks their progress over time, with a specific focus on the relative gaps between women and men across four key areas: health, education, economy and politics. Interactive tools allow users to calculate time to gender parity, compare global rankings, and share infographics.

Articles, critical essays, and reviews

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from "core" sociology journals dating back to 1895, and "priority" sociology journals. Also includes 500+ full-text books and monographs and 6,000+ conference papers.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Popular Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.

Search for more articles, critical essays, and reviews on women's studies

Books and ebooks

Where are the books on women's studies?

The CSU-Pueblo Women's Studies Collection is a growing set of timely books on sex roles, feminism, gender, and identity. It is located on the 4th floor of the LARC.

How do I search for books on women's studies?

Outside of the Women's Studies Collection, the books you need may be found in any number of sections. Combined searches can help limit your search results. For example:

women AND media AND representation
feminism AND politics
feminis* AND (sports OR athletics)

SuperSearch This link opens in a new window
Find books and ebooks on your topic here at CSU-Pueblo, or request books from CSU-Ft. Collins.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Can't find the book you're looking for in the CSU system? Search and borrow books from more than 10,000 participating libraries in WorldCat.

Videos and documentaries

TED Talks on Women
Collection of TED talks on women and business, health, humanitarianism, and sports.
Kanopy Gender Studies collection
650+ streaming films and documentaries on gender roles and identity, feminism, sexuality, and media representation.