Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Mass Communications Research: Media representation

Popular film and TV

American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 500 film scripts with additional information on scenes, characters, and people.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
700,000 citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
Hoopla
The CSU Pueblo Library no longer provides access to Hoopla. Please access Hoopla through the Pueblo City-County Library District's website - https://www.pueblolibrary.org/
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries, all available to request for purchase. New films added monthly. Curriculum resource.

Magazines and advertisements

The CSU-Pueblo library subscribes to 60+ major newspapers and popular magazines. Current issues are on display in the 3rd floor reading area. Past issues are stacked under the metal shelves, or in bound volumes on the surrounding shelves.

Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
7,000+ U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda (1911-1955).
Flipster This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse select magazines on the Flipster app with your CSU-Pueblo Library account.
Magazines from Google Books This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-text magazines from the 20th century, in full color.

Scholarly articles

Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and trade publications focused on mass communications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Contains current and past issues of 2,300+ journals.
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization, especially in the disciplines of economics, political science, race and gender studies, intellectual history, media studies, psychology and philosophy.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from "core" sociology journals dating back to 1895, and "priority" sociology journals. Also includes 500+ full-text books and monographs and 6,000+ conference papers.