Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Health Science Research: Databases, Articles, and Journals

Recommended Databases

PubMed (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
26 million+ citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. May include links to full-text content. Open access.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
600,000+ full-text articles from 560+ journals in health sciences (1937-present).
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Supports the information needs of patients, with content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of articles and ebooks from across primarily science, medicine and technology, as well as social sciences, and humanities.

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
The TRIP, Turning Research into Practice, database is an evidence-based practice meta-search tool designed to answer clinical questions using the principles of evidence based medicine.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Accessing Articles

Find IT @CSU-Pueblo

Use Find It at CSU-Pueblo from within library databases to find articles in full-text format OR to Interlibrary Loan full-text articles.

SCENARIO 1 You are searching the databases and find an article that is not available full-text: look for the Find It @CSU-Pueblo icon.

FindIt@CSU-Pueblo

This will help you determine whether or not we already have the article you want, either electronically or in print. When neither print nor electronic is available, Find It @CSU-Pueblo directs you to submit an interlibrary loan request form.

SCENARIO 2 You have a citation, have searched for the journal title in SuperSearch and it has indicated the Library does not own the title. Go to the ClioWeb form and submit a request.

So what happens next?

You will receive an email stating that your article has arrived through electronic delivery. Your article will be available daily after 8AM, 12PM, 4PM, and 8PM. If you would like to receive your article in a hard copy you may request to pick it up at the Circulation Desk.
You will receive a phone call from the Interlibrary Loan office alerting you that the link to your article should be available.

If you are not able to access your article electronically, please call the Interlibrary Loan Office at 549-2362.