Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Using Historical Documents: Pueblo Colorado Historical Documents and Archives: Articles

This guide will enable users to locate archives that house historical documents that are relevant to and/or located in the Pueblo, Co. area.

Magazines

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

About Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Integration with CSU-Pueblo Library
CSU-Pueblo Library participates in Google's "Library Links" program -- a service which will add full-text links to Google search results and provide you with direct access to library resources. Enabling this service is easy -- once you access Google Scholar, click the "Scholar Preferences" option, then find and select CSU-Pueblo Library in the Library Links section.

Magazines in Google Books

Google Books has a broad, online collection of popular publications. They include general interest magazines (e.g., Life) to specialized ones such as The Crises (NAACP publication that began before World War I).

Library Databases

The following entries are likely to have relevant articles.  However, depending on your topic, other sources listed in Databases by Title or Databases by Subject may prove more helpful.    

A second way to identify periodicals (and Ebooks) is the Find It @CSU-Pueblo.   Search for a specific publication via title or browse the subjects (e.g., History & Archaeology).   The results identify relevant publications available electronically and their links.

Finally, don't foget hardcopy.  Current copies are avalable on the periodical shelves.  Check the catalog for a list of all available issues and then see the Reference Librarian for assistance.

Other

Databases available to registered New York State residents.  Registration link

Database Help

How to search a database.   Similar HELP links may be available on other databases.

Log on instructions to access ECC databases.

Newspapers