Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Forensics &amp; Communication Research: Law and Politics

Legal & Government Databases

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the full text of congressional publications.
FindLaw This link opens in a new window
Federal and state statutes and cases.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of resources on legal history, government documents, case studies, treaties, constitutions, case law, treatises, foreign relations, and law journals.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Coverage from all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers, federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, speeches, and current scholarship pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.
Military and Intelligence Database Collection This link opens in a new window
Content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Content of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Politics

CIA World Factbook The Factbook was created as an annual summary and update to the encyclopedic NIS studies.
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 by Winston E. Langley This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists.
Publication Date: 1999-06-30
The Essentials of Global Politics by Richard Langhorne This work provides an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes of global politics--including globalisation, the ever-present threat of war, and conflict and terrorism.
Publication Date: 2006-09-14

Law and Legal Issues

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States by Louis J. Palmer
ISBN: 0786432632
Publication Date: 2008-07-23
This updated encyclopedia provides ready information on all aspects of capital punishment in America. It details virtually every capital punishment decision rendered by the United States Supreme Court through 2006, including more than 40 cases decided since publication of the first edition.
Great American Court Cases Series by Mark F. Mikula (Editor); L. Mpho Mabunda (Editor); Allison McClintic Marion (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787629472
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
This resource, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents. It contains cases organized by broad legal principles, then arranged alphabetically under the more specific legal issue.
Political Philosophy A-Z by Jon Pike A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy.
Publication Date: 2007-09-20
World of Criminal Justice by Shirelle Phelps (Editor)
ISBN: 0787649597
Publication Date: 2001-09-12
The individual entries in this two-volume ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are also included. More than 320 photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.