Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
The Concise Encyclopedia includes: entries on topics (autobiography) and countries (Cuba); entries on the leading writers in Latin America (César Vallejo) from colonial times to the present; and detailed articles on important works (A rosa do povo by Carlos Drummond de Andrade) in this literature.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
The Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
Reference Sources
The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) is a large series that looks at specific genres, national writing/writers, and literary movements. Searching the library catalog using "dictionary of literary biography and spanish" will retrieve at least 10 different volumes. A sample below:
The Hispanic Databook by
Today, the number of Hispanics/Latinos has surpassed 50 million and is the fastest growing group in America. The Hispanic Databook takes a detailed look at this group by examining data on national, state, county, and place (city, town, etc.) levels. It contains profiles on 782 places with the highest concentrations of Hispanic/Latino population, comprising 23 ethnic backgrounds from Argentinean to Venezuelan, and includes 26 statistical topics, including Homeownership, Income, Language Spoke at Home, Jobs, Rent, and Poverty. In addition to providing significant facts and figures, The Hispanic Databook also compares and ranks all states, counties and places by all topics – allowing users to get to exactly the data they need in minutes.