Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Sociology & Criminology Research: Books and eBooks

Books

Use SuperSearch to find books related to your topic. The books listed below are reference materials that may be helpful for background information.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor) Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics and key concepts in the field of sociology. Also includes sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe..
Call Number : eBook
Publication Date: 2007
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor) An indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches.
Call Number : eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by Gerben Bruinsma (Editor); David Weisburd (Editor) The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige. The Encyclopedia covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas, with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise: Corrections and Criminal Justice Supervision in the Community Courts, Sentencing and the Judicial System Crimes, Criminals and Victims Crime Places and Situations Explanations for Criminal Behavior Forensic Science Data, Methods, and Statistics Police and Law Enforcement Psychology of Law Social Interventions and Prevention This work features approximately 600 entries, organized in alphabetical order.
Call Number : eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The Handbook of Political Sociology by Thomas Janoski (Editor); Robert Alford (Editor); Alexander Hicks (Editor); Mildred A. Schwartz (Editor) This handbook provides the first complete survey of the vibrant field of political sociology.
Publication Date: 2003

Students, Faculty, Staff, and Campus Affiliates

Search the catalog. If an item is available as an eBook, you can get a copy by clicking "Download This eBook." You may need to login to complete the download.

In some cases, you may only be able to download a couple of chapters, not the entire book. Or, you may only be able to view the book online and not download it at all. It depends on the company that licenses the book to the library.

If you are not a member of the campus community

While we would like to make eBooks available to everyone, our licensing agreements do not allow it. Some eBooks may be viewable only when you are physically in the library, but in most cases, off-campus access is not available.

More information about using eBooks
Learn how to access, download, and cite eBooks.

Sociology in the LARC

Sociology books are classified in the H section and are located on the 5th floor.

H - Social sciences (general)

HB - Economic theory. Demography

HC - Economic history and conditions

HM - Sociology (general)

HN - Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.

HQ - The family. Marriage. Women.

HT - Communities. Classes. Races.

HV 40-69 - Social service. Social work. Charity.

HV 85- 525 - Social services by region

HV 530 - The church and charity

HV 541 - Women and charity

HV 544 - Charity fairs, bazaars, etc

HV 544.5 - International social work

HV 547 - Self-help groups

HV 551.2-639 - Emergency management

HV 640 - 645 - Refugee problems

HV 650 - 670 - Life-saving

HV 675-677 - Accidents, prevention of accidents

HV 680 - 696 - Free professional services

HV 697-4959 - Protection, assistance and relief

HV 4961 - 4995 - Degeneration

HV 5001 - 5720.5 - Alcoholism. Intemperance

HV 5725 - 5770 - Tobacco habit

HV 5800 - 5840 - Drug habits. Drug abuse

HV 6001 - 7220.5 - Criminology

HV 7231 - 9960 - Criminal justice administration