Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Social Work Research: Books and eBooks

Books

Search the CSU-Pueblo Library Catalog using SuperSearch. Using the filters in the left-hand menu bar, limit your search to books and/or eBooks.

Social Policy for Social Work by Lorraine Green; Karen Clarke Contemporary social work cannot be understood without an appreciation of the broader context of social policy in which it takes place. Such an understanding is increasingly important as social workers are expected to work across institutional, professional and even national boundaries in new ways profoundly affected by the changing global context. This insightful book examines how shifts in the dominant political ideology have affected the nature of welfare provision, the kinds of social problems addressed by policy, and the balance of responsibilities for well-being between individuals, the family, voluntary organizations, the market and the state. It explains the impact of these developments on the organization of social work and on relationships between social workers and service users. The book discusses contested concepts central to social work - such as justice, liberty, equality, difference, need and risk - and illustrates these through a range of examples. The critical analysis provided in this book offers students of social work a crucial foundation for negotiating difficult and sensitive practice situations and defending their profession, providing them with the tools and knowledge to uphold key professional values.
Call Number : eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Terry Mizrahi; Larry E. Davis (editors) Oxford University Press and The National Association of Social Workers are proud to announce that 2009's completely updated, revised and critically-acclaimed 20th edition of this essential work is now available in paperback. The 400 articles in this four-volume set cover all aspects of social work. Topics include practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, and social policy and history. This new edition of the Encyclopedia contains extensive coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. Comprehensive and easy to use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and include a complete index.
Call Number : REF HV12 .E53 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare by Barbara W. White; Karen M. Sowers (editors) Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare, Volume 1: The Profession of Social Work features contributions from leading international researchers and practitioners and presents the most comprehensive, in-depth source of information on the field of social work and social welfare.
Call Number : REF HV40 .C635 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The Social Work Dictionary by Robert L. Barker The dynamic vocabulary of social work, like the profession itself, continues to grow and become more complex. Since the first edition of 'The Social Work Dictionary' in 1987, this essential reference work has been recognised as the definitive lexicon of social work. Now in its fifth edition, the dictionary captures over 9,000 terms, cataloguing and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organisations, historical figures, and values that define the profession. A special historical section represents a chronology of the significant developments in the United States and the world toward social welfare policies, practices, and the betterment of humanity. Used extensively in schools of social work, social service agency libraries, and in social work offices world-wide, this is a staple in professional libraries. It is unequalled as a study tool for preparing for licensing and certification exams. Every social worker -- from professor to student, from novice to experienced professional -- should own this unparalleled resource for understanding the language of social work and related disciplines.
Call Number : REF HV12 .B37 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Students, Faculty, Staff, and Campus Affiliates

Search the catalog. If an item is available as an eBook, you can get a copy by clicking "Download This eBook." You may need to login to complete the download.

In some cases, you may only be able to download a couple of chapters, not the entire book. Or, you may only be able to view the book online and not download it at all. It depends on the company that licenses the book to the library.

If you are not a member of the campus community

While we would like to make eBooks available to everyone, our licensing agreements do not allow it. Some eBooks may be viewable only when you are physically in the library, but in most cases, off-campus access is not available.

More information about using eBooks
Learn how to access, download, and cite eBooks.

Social Work in the LARC

Social Work books are classified in the H section and are located on the 5th floor.

H - Social sciences (general)

HB - Economic theory. Demography

HC - Economic history and conditions

HM - Sociology (general)

HN - Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.

HQ - The family. Marriage. Women.

HT - Communities. Classes. Races.

HV 40-69 - Social service. Social work. Charity.

HV 85- 525 - Social services by region

HV 530 - The church and charity

HV 541 - Women and charity

HV 544 - Charity fairs, bazaars, etc

HV 544.5 - International social work

HV 547 - Self-help groups

HV 551.2-639 - Emergency management

HV 640 - 645 - Refugee problems

HV 650 - 670 - Life-saving

HV 675-677 - Accidents, prevention of accidents

HV 680 - 696 - Free professional services

HV 697-4959 - Protection, assistance and relief

HV 4961 - 4995 - Degeneration

HV 5001 - 5720.5 - Alcoholism. Intemperance

HV 5725 - 5770 - Tobacco habit

HV 5800 - 5840 - Drug habits. Drug abuse

HV 6001 - 7220.5 - Criminology

HV 7231 - 9960 - Criminal justice administration