Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
The Concise Encyclopedia includes: entries on topics (autobiography) and countries (Cuba); entries on the leading writers in Latin America (César Vallejo) from colonial times to the present; and detailed articles on important works (A rosa do povo by Carlos Drummond de Andrade) in this literature.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
The Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English by
This Encyclopedia documents the history and development of this body of work from A (Gemino Henson Abad) to Z (Fay Zwicky) and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories. It explores the effect of the colonial and post-colonial experience on literatures in English worldwide.
The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel by
The diverse countries of Latin America have produced a lively and ever evolving tradition of novels, many of which are read in translation all over the world. This Companion offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel Garca Mrquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa. The essays collected here offer several entryways into the understanding and appreciation of the Latin American novel in Spanish-speaking America and Brazil. The volume conveys a real sense of the heterogeneity of Latin American literature, highlighting regions whose cultural and geopolitical particularities are often overlooked. Indispensable to students of Latin American or Hispanic studies and those interested in comparative literature and the development of the novel as genre, the Companion features a comprehensive bibliography and chronology and concludes with an essay about the success of Latin American novels in translation.
Latin American Writers by
This collection of bio-critical essays on Latin American writers from the 16th century to the present, is enhanced by Supplement I, covering writers who have come to the fore since the publication of the base set in 1989.
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature by
This is the first comprehensive history of Spanish literature to be published in English since the 1970s. It brings together experts from the USA, the United Kingdom, and Spain. Together, the essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to the present day. The classics of the canon of eleven centuries of Spanish literature are covered, from Berceo, Cervantes and Caldern to Garca Lorca and Martn Gaite, but attention is also paid to lesser known writers and works. The chapters chart a wide range of literary periods and movements. The volume concludes with a consideration of the influences of film and new media on modern Spanish literature. This invaluable book contains an introduction, more than fifty substantial chapters, a chronology (covering key events in history, literature, and art), a bibliography, and a comprehensive index for easy reference.
Reference Sources
The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) is a large series that looks at specific genres, national writing/writers, and literary movements. Searching the library catalog using "dictionary of literary biography and spanish" will retrieve at least 10 different volumes. These are circulating and located on the 4th floor alcove area. A sample below:
