Research in gender communication is multidisciplinary. Psychologists, sociologists, anthropologists, linguists, communication experts, and literary theorists all have something to say on the matter. That means you may need to consult a variety of subject area databases to find recent studies on this topic. But you can start in a communication or gender issues database, and then branch out from there as needed. If you're interested in how different cultures perceive the sexes, a linguistics or sociology database might do the trick. If you're interested in gender-based advertising, the WARC database below offers case studies of ad campaigns searchable by keywords.
The Handbook of Language and Gender by 
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Communication by 
Gender in Applied Communication Contexts by
Gender in Applied Communication Contexts explores the intersection and integration of feminist theory as applied to four important areas: organizational communication, health communication, family communication, and instructional communication. This collection of readings links theoretical insights and contributions to pragmatic ways of improving the lives of women and men in a variety of professional and personal situations. Features of this text include: - Extensive use of narrative. The situations the authors describe in these chapters are those confronted by students, scholars, and family members and friends in daily life: telecommuting, work/life balance, sexual harassment, cancer, disability, AIDS, verbal and nonverbal communication applications in learning. - Applied communication approach: The text applies feminist theory to analysis and construction of realistic interventions for achieving greater workplace equity, enhanced health outcomes for women, and more inclusive and thought-provoking classroom (and training workshop) practices. - Strong framing pedagogy. In each Part introduction, top scholars in that area discuss what is theoretically and pragmatically significant about the Part and how the ideas in the chapters might be extended. - Original, cutting-edge academic work. All of the chapters in this text are original theoretical contributions that have not been published elsewhere, giving students access to the most contemporary thinking and research in the field. While this text spans the diverse landscape of communication contexts, the central theme of feminist theory praxis makes it appropriate for a number of different courses. Gender in Applied Communication Contexts is recommended for upper-division and graduate-level courses in gender and communication, feminist theory, organizational communication, health communication, instructional communication, and applied communication. This anthology is also recommended as a research resource for scholars in Women's Studies, Family Studies, and Business and Management.
Gender in Interaction by
In this volume, gender is seen as a communicative achievement and as a social category interacting with other social parametres such as age, status, prestige, institutional and ethnic frameworks, cultural and situative contexts. The authors come from a variety of backgrounds such as sociology of communication, anthropological linguistics, sociolinguistics, social psychology, and text linguistics. Masculinity and femininity are conceived of as varying culturally, historically and contextually. All contributions discuss empirical research of communication and the question of whether (and how) gender is a salient variable in discourse. So, one aim of the book is to trace the varying relevance of gender in interaction. Emotion politics, ideology, body concepts, and speech styles are related to ethnographic description of the contexts within which communication takes place. These contexts range from private to public communication, and from mixed-sex to same-sex conversations framed by different cultural backgrounds (Australian, German, Georgian, Turkish, US-American).
