Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

MLA Citation, 8th ed.: Scholarly Journal Articles in databases

Designed to provide a basic understanding of the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and writing style. MLA is commonly used for writing in the Arts and Humanities.

Citing your sources

Use the above dropdown menu to select examples of how various resources are cited in MLA Style.

There are 10 types of resources included in this guide:

 

For additional examples of other types of resources, or for more detail, please see Part 2, Chapter 2, "Works Cited," of The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th Ed.

Electronic Full-Text Database: Scholarly Journal Article

MLA 7th Edition

Basic Format:

Author, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title vol.issue (Date): pg-pg. Medium. Date of Access.

Example:

Chazan, Robert. "Ephraim Ben Jacob's Compilation of Twelfth-Century Persecutions." The Jewish Quarterly Review 84.4 (1994): 397-416. Web. 20 Oct. 2016.

For More Information see MLA Handbook 7th ed. Sections 5.4.1-5.4.4; 5.6.4


MLA 8th Edition

Basic Format

Author, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol.#, no.#, Month Date, pp. # - #. Database, DOI or URL.

If item has a permalink or DOI, those are preferable. If not, use the url.

  • Permalinks are found within an item record in a specific database, and are designated by icons similar to this: permalink icon
  • DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) are included in database-generated citations, or simply links to articles. Remove the http part of the url up to the actual DOI.  Examples: DOI: 10.2979/prooftexts.33.3.277    DOI: 10.1163/157006710X497751

Example with Permalink:

Chazan, Robert. "Ephraim Ben Jacob's Compilation of Twelfth-Century Persecutions." The Jewish Quarterly Review, vol. 84, no. 4, 1994, pp. 397-416. Super Search, https://login.ezproxy.csupueblo.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsram&AN=edsram.aleph.publish.000437654&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Example with DOI:

Estok, Simon C. "A report card on ecocriticism." Journal of the Australasian Universities Language and Literature Association, vol.  96, no. 1, 2001, pp. 220-238. Google Scholar. DOI: 10.1179/aulla.2001.96.1.014.

Example with direct URL:

Chazan, Robert. "Ephraim Ben Jacob's Compilation of Twelfth-Century Persecutions." The Jewish Quarterly Review, vol. 84, no. 4, 1994, pp. 397-416. JSTOR. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1455083 doi:1.

Research Help Desk

CSU Pueblo University Library's picture
CSU Pueblo University Library
Contact:
Research Help Desk,
University Library
Colorado State University-Pueblo
2200 Bonforte Blvd.
Pueblo, CO 81001
719-549-2333