Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

MCCNM 425: Audience Research Methodology

Find books, articles, and current news on audience research

EndNote Web basics

When you work on a large, complex project with collaborators, you have to find a way to share resources. For this class, we've set up a folder for shared citations using EndNote Web.

EndNote Web features include:

  • One-click option to collect citations from SuperSearch and library databases
  • One-click link to full text of article
  • Generate a works cited list in multiple citation styles

Make an account

You will need to create an EndNote Web account to access and share citations. USE YOUR CSU-PUEBLO EMAIL ADDRESS.

Key elements

Quick guide to features in EndNote Web:

  1. Access the group's shared list of citations
  2. Click the link to view the full text of the article in a library database (where it was added from)
  3. Click the thunderwolf to search SuperSearch for alternate versions

Adding and importing citations

From SuperSearch

  1. When viewing a book/article in SuperSearch, scroll to the "SEND TO" section at the bottom of the page
  2. Click ENDNOTE
  3. EndNote will open, and display this message:
  4. Click on My References to view your dashboard, then select [Unfiled] under All My References
  5. Select the references you want to share with the group, then select MCCNM 425 -- Spring 2018 from the Add to group... menu

 

From EBSCO databases (Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, etc.)

  1. When viewing an article, click on Export in the right-side Tools menu
  2. Select and click Save
  3. EndNote will open and show this message:
  4. Click on My References to view your dashboard, then select [Unfiled] under All My References
  5. Select the references you want to share with the group, then select MCCNM 425 -- Spring 2018 from the Add to group... menu

From Proquest Databases (ERIC, National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts, etc.)

  1. While viewing an article, click Save in the right-hand box and select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)
  2. Click Continue to download the RIS file and save it to your computerIn a new window, open EndNote Web
  3. Go to Collect > Import References
  4. Upload the RIS file from your computer, select ProQuest as import type and MCCNM 445 -- Spring 2018 as the destination

Works cited

  1. Click on Format in the menu bar, then Bibliography.
  2. In the References drop-down menu, select the list or folder that you want to generate citations for.
  3. Select the citation style under Bibliographic style. (You can create a shortlist of citation styles by clicking Select Favorites)
  4. Select the export style (probably TXT)
  5. Save, email, or print

Example:

EndNote Web tutorial