Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ENG 201: Introduction to Literary Study

updated April 1, 2019

Searching different genres

Film

Film

When searching for film critiques in a database, it's important to  check the Subjects listing and choose Motion Picture or Film, otherwise you may find articles analyzing the book, rather than the film version of the work.

Subject

  • (105)
  • (57)
  • (41)
  • (39)
  • (31)
  • (24)

Rather than choosing Reviews as a source type, you'll want to choose academic journals in order to find scholarly approaches, for example:  Title: Unpacking a Punch: Transduction and the Sound of Combat Foley in Fight Club. Authors: HAGOOD, MACK1 Source: Cinema Journal. Summer2014, Vol. 53 Issue 4, p98-120. 23p. Document Type: Film/Television Criticism

Source Types

  • (995)
  • (624)
  • (430)
  • (239)
  • (174)
The following databases offer good coverage and academic critiques of modern and classic films.

Poetry and Creative Writing

Poetry and Creative Writing

The English Department is home to a vibrant program and community of writers.  The library makes a special effort to collect works by local poets and invited poets/writers who read their works as part of the  SoCo Reading Series.  The library archives copies of the University's literary magazine, Tempered Steel, formerly called The Hungry Eye.

Additionally, Pilgrimage Magazine is published under the auspices of the Creative Writing Program here, and print copies are available in the Browse area of the library's third floor.

In terms of researching, as with other literary genres, searching the title of a poem in SuperSearch, the book catalog, may bring you a collection with the work itself, and  articles about the work, if you expand your search to include articles.  Similarly, search the literary criticism databases by named work to find secondary sources. 

Here is a critique of William Carlos Williams' "The Red Wheelbarrow" found in Literature Resource Center by searching it as a named work.

Short Story

Short Story

Short stories can be searched by title in Super Search, to find if they are included in larger collections, if you're looking for the work itself.  To find criticism on a short story, search by title of work in databases like MLA, Literature Resource Center, and JSTOR.