Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: POLSC 271: Terrorism: Finding Articles

Beth Fuchs

Email Me

Contact:

LARC 210

(719) 549-2527

Databases with Scholarly Articles

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, speeches, and current scholarship pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Content of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Policy oriented literature from the social sciences, including law, the military, political science, international law and relations, as well as reports and commentary on public affairs from the serious general press. Includes scholarly articles as well as commentary and opinion.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Sociology articles address group motivation, structure, and organization.
Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and trade publications focused on mass communications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Contains current and past issues of 2,300+ journals.

Databases with News and Opinion Sources

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
More than 860 full-text newspapers, and more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. Searches Pueblo Chieftain, Colorado Springs Gazette, and The Denver Post.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
New York Times 1851–2017 This link opens in a new window
Complete archive of the United States' paper of record, covering 1851 to 2008.

Google Scholar & Find It at CSU-Pueblo

About Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Integration with CSU-Pueblo Library
CSU-Pueblo Library participates in Google's "Library Links" program -- a service which will add full-text links to Google search results and provide you with direct access to library resources. Enabling this service is easy -- once you access Google Scholar, click the "Scholar Preferences" option, then find and select CSU-Pueblo Library in the Library Links section.

Database Search Tips

An important thing to remember is that the names for international terrorist groups have been translated from their original languages, and may have had multiple names as they change over time.

Be sure to find out if there are alternate spellings of and/or names for the group you're investigating.

All databases have a 'wild card' functionality, where a symbol takes the place of a letter or letters-

example: searching h*zb*llah retrieves documents on hezbollah, hizbollah, hezbullah and hizbullah

Using the Boolean OR operator allows you to search groups with multiple designations

example: "Lord's Resistance Army" OR LRA

Using phrase searching, as above, retrieves those words in order

examples: "Lord's Resistance Army" "Tamil Tigers" "Sinn Fein"

When using library databases, look for options to help you limit your results. Common limiters include:

Full Text
Results will be only those with full articles attached, not just citations.
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
Results will come only from academic journals.
Date
Find only recent articles, or articles from certain historical periods.

Need a full article, but only the citation is listed?

Click the "Find it @ CSU-Pueblo" icon to see if an article's in a different database. If it's not available, we can request it for you with Interlibrary Loan.