Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA Handbook 8th ed.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook. The MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Publication Date: 2016
Information contained in this guide is based on the eighth edition of The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
A copy of the MLA Handbook is available at the library circulation desk for 2 hour reserve use, and at the Research Help Desk for guided use.
MLA Guide Overview
This LibGuide is designed to provide a basic understanding of the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and writing style. MLA is commonly used for writing in the Arts and Humanities.
There are five tabbed sections (above) included in this guide:
- Citing Your Sources: This section provides examples and an explanation of how to correctly cite common resources on the Work Cited page of your paper.
- In-Text Citation: This section outlines the correct format and placement of parenthetical (in-text) citations in the text of your paper.
- Formatting Your Paper: In this section details about how to correctly layout and format your paper following the MLA style are provided.
- More Help: This section gives places to go for more help and information. Including on campus and off campus resources.
- Citation Managers: This section provides guidance for setting up and using various citation assistant services provided by the library.
This LibGuide in no way replaces the full MLA Handbook. If questions should arise in properly documenting and citing sources the complete handbook provides much more detail and direction.
Important: Be sure to always follow your instructor's guidelines when writing your papers.
Research Help Desk
CSU Pueblo University Library
, General Library Information
, Library Science
, Library Work Study Training
, Multiple Subjects
, Open Education Resources
, Reference Sources