Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 503: Ergonomics

Resources for research in ergonomics

Why Citing? EndNote, A Reference Organizer

One way to determine an articles's importance is by looking at how many times it has been cited in other articles. Locating who cited an article also determines the direction a research topic has gone through . It usually takes a few years for an article to build up some citing articles while being used in the same or similar topic of research.

The University Library currently uses EndNote which  is a Web-based reference organizer and collaboration tool that enables EndNote users to collect references when away from their desktop, and collaborate easily with others. It allows for collecting and organizing references, and creating a formatted bibliography. It also allows importing bibliographic references and citations from different databases.

 

EndNote and ScienceDirect

Importing References from ScienceDirect to EndNote

1. Mark the records you want to import and click Export Citations.

2. Select either All documents or Only these documents for the Marked records.

3. Select Citations + Abstracts to export the record's abstracts.

4. Select the and click Export.

5. It will ask you to save it or open it; Click Save File

6. Log in to your EndNote account  

7. Choose Collect  > Import References

8. Browse the .txt file you have just exported from your SciFinder

9. From the Import Option, choose SciFinder (CAS)  (you can also add it to your favorite, so that you don't have to go through the list everytime you want to import something)

10. Select a file (created before) or unfiled (individual citations) or New Group (collecting citations if same kind or subject in one group) & Click Import 

11. Almost all the time you will have a pop-ups at the toolbar which you should temporarily allow it to be able to import your file

12. If you have chosen "New Group" then it will give you a screen to give a name to your new group. After typing a name, click OK & it will show you the number of files imported.

13. If you want to go to your record Click on "Go to URL" or later on find it under My References.

 

EndNote and IEEE

Importing References from IEEExplore to EndNote

1. Run the search you wish

2. Select the record(s) you want to export their citation(s)

3. From top of the results' list, choose the icon Download Citations

 4. In the new window: select your preferences either as Ciations Only or Citations & Abstract,

and from Format list: select EndNote, proCite, RefMan

5. Click Download Citation

6. In the new screen remove the Pop-up blocker by Downloading the file, then save your citations to your desktop.

7. Sign in to your EndNote account, choose Collect  > Import References

8. Browse the .txt file you have just exported from your IEEE searches

9. From the Import Option, choose RefMan  RIS (you can also add it to your favorite, so that you don't have to go through the list everytime you want to import something)

10. Select a file (created before) or unfiled (individual citations) or New Group (collecting citations if same kind or subject in one group) & Click Import 

11. Almost all the time you will have a pop-ups at the toolbar which you should temporarily allow it to be able to import your file

12. If you have chosen "New Group" then it will give you a screen to give a name to your new group. After typing a name, click OK & it will show you the number of files imported.

13. If you want to go to your record Click on "Go to URL" or the name of the file you have imported your citations. You can also find it under My References at a later time.

EndNote & SciFinder Scholar

Importing References from SciFinder Scholar to EndNote

1. From the search results page select the references you want to import (or if you have a saved Answer Set you want to export, you can open that)

2. Click Export to save it on your desktop (If you want to save it at CAS click on Save, you can later export it)  

3. If you choose Export, then navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file

4. Select Tagged Format as the file type (.txt)

5. Choose all or selected aswers, click Export

6. It will ask you to save it or open it; Click Save File

7. Log in to your EndNote account  

8. Choose Collect  > Import References

9. Browse the .txt file you have just exported from your SciFinder

10. From the Import Option, choose SciFinder (CAS)  (you can also add it to your favorite, so that you don't have to go through the list everytime you want to import something)

11. Select a file (created before) or unfiled (individual citations) or New Group (collecting citations if same kind or subject in one group) & Click Import 

12. Almost all the time you will have a pop-ups at the toolbar which you should temporarily allow it to be able to import your file

13. If you have chosen "New Group" then it will give you a screen to give a name to your new group/folder. After typing a name, click OK & it will show you the number of files imported.

14. If you want to go to your record Click on "Go to URL" or later on find it under My References.

How to Create Bibliographies List in EndNote

In order to createa  the bibliographies list of the references that you have exported to EndNote,

1. Sign in to your EndNote Account

2. From the toolbar menu choose Format>Bibliography

3. From the References, select the folder/group you want to use

4. From the Bibliographic style drop down menu select the citation style you want to use such as MLA or Chicago

5. Then choose the format you want from the File format drop down menu such as TXT (plain text file)

6. Then you can Save it on your computer or E-mail it to yourself. You can also choose to Preview & Print.

7. Please remember there is a pop-up blocker at the top of the screen and you have to allow it. after allowing the access, you have to go through the steps 4-6 above to get the bibliographic set you wanted.

8. In order to have only individual titles from a group to be used in your bibliographic information,  select each title you want by checkmarking its box, then from the top of the list and from the Add to group... box select  New group, temporarily allow the Pop-up blocker, it will give a window "Explorer User Prompt" for you to create a new group. When you finish naming the new added group, your selected titles would be there. 

If you have references in other folders that you want to use with the  new group you have just created, you can go to each folder and select the titles and move it to your new group and then follow the steps 2-6.

EndNote & Academic Search Premier

Each database acts differently in exporting citations. Let's choose Academic Search Premier as an example:

1. Go to Academic Search Premier (ASP)

2. Run your search and get the results

3. Under each title you want to use its citations, choose Add to Folder tab

4. Click Folder on the toolbar

5. Check mark the record

6. At the right side of the screen, click on Export

7. On the new opened screen under the list of options for "Save citations to a file formatted for" choose Direct Export to EndNote Web 

8. Click Save

9. It will take you to the EndNote front page

10. Choose My References tab from the toolbar

11. Check mark the title under your references and move it to a folder/Group you wish from the drop-down list of the Add to Group at the top of your references--You can see the changes of the number of citations at the left side of the screen under My References List

12. you can manage your titles under Organize tab: Giving name, moving citations to an existing group or create a new group by clicking Organize>Manage My Groups> New Groups or simply choose Unfiled to stand alone

13. You can click on a title to go to abstract and the citation. If the record you have chosen has the Full text you will have Go to Record icon and it will take to the full record

14. From the right side of the screen you can print, e-mail, save, cite, export, create note, or bookmark it.