A handy guide that will aid in almost any Civil War project. Using government records, locating and utilizing specialized libraries and collections, touring battlefield sites, contacting and drawing on Civil War interest organizations, and making the best use of published collections are all covered, with many useful tips.
Open access database of more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States. Considered one of the nation’s great archives in the Revolutionary, early national, antebellum, and Civil War periods.
Songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera from the late nineteenth century, with video interviews with scholars and critical essays. Covers themes of race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women's suffrage from the end of the Civil War to Theodore Roosevelt's presidency (1865-1901).
The Huntington Library specializes in British and American history, literature and the history of science spanning the 11th century to the present. Its Digital Library contains maps, photographs, manuscripts, rare books, prints and ephemera. Unique collections focus on southern California architecture and technology, Jack London (author), Colorado rivers, coded Civil War messages, and Mormonism.
Published and unpublished works by 400+ authors. Search by historical event or life experience. Includes digital reproduction and full-text transcription of the Black Panther newspaper, and oral histories from authors, artists, and activists.