Skip to main content
Banner Image

Scholarly Communications & Open Access

Create an ORCID

ORCID is a free, persistent digital identifier that is used by numerous commercial and government funding organizations, publishers, and universities (including CSU-Pueblo). 

Use your ORCID when:

  • Applying for funding
  • Submitting manuscripts
  • Renewing membership with professional organizations
  • Accepting peer review assignments
  • Submitting works to the CSU-Pueblo Digital Repository**
  • Display on your personal webpages, CVs, etc.

Create a ResearcherID

ResearcherID is a free author identifier, online community, and search system from Thomson Reuters, integrated with Web of Science and EndNote. ResearcherID can be associated with an ORCID. 

Profiles & Identifiers

What are author profiles?

Building your academic profile online is a way to demonstrate your authority and area of expertise, identify your research interests, and find potential collaborators. Creating and managing your profile gives you control over the information available about you, and ensures other researchers are finding correct and complete information. There are several profile platforms available with slightly different focuses: 

  • Researcher Communities such as Academia.edu, ResearchGate
  • Reference management tools with social functions like Mendeley
  • Search engines with author profiles and citation tracking such as Google Scholar, Scopus, and ResearcherID

What are author identifiers?

Author identifiers (also called researcher identifiers), are permanent, unique identifiers that allow authors to distinguish themselves from other researchers and to unambiguously associate themselves with their work. Author ambiguity in the scholarly community is a persistent problem due to: 

  • One author publishing under multiple versions of the same name
  • Common names
  • Name changes, e.g., marriage
  • Cultural differences in naming 

There are both commercial and non-profit researcher identifier systems, which provide a persistent numerical identifier associated with your public name, and integrate across multiple platforms, acting as a bridge that resolves the problem of name ambiguity in search and discovery. 

Which ones do I need? 

ORCID Essential - get one, and use it!
ResearcherID Recommended - especially if you have publications in the Web of Science database
Scopus author identifier Recommended - Created for you if you have publications indexed in Scopus, check to see if it exists and monitor for errors
Google Scholar Citations Profile Recommended
Other public profiles: ResearchGate, Academia.edu, Loop, LinkedIn, SSRN, Twitter, Facebook Optional

 

Learn more about researcher identifiers

Compare researcher identifiers

  ORCID (Open Researcher & Contributor ID) ResearcherID Scopus
What is it? Persistent numerical digital identifier Alphanumeric author identifier, online community, and search system Automatically generated identifier number
Integrated with... Commercial research organizations, national agencies, publishers, and professional societies Web of Knowledge (Thomson Reuters) Scopus
Scope/Limitations N/A Includes Web of Science publications and can manually add/import from other sources. Recommends linking to ORCID.

Articles indexed in Scopus only

Cannot self-manage

Create your own profile? Yes Yes No, but you can request to merge profiles if you have multiple identifiers
How do I add publications to my profile? Import from partner organizations or enter manually

Search Web of Knowledge/Science or your EndNote Web library

Upload RIS file

You can only request that changes be made to your profile
Features

Add external identifiers (e.g., ResearcherID, Scopus)

Link to other systems (e.g., LinkedIn, Google Scholar)

You choose what information to make public

Provides citation metrics for Web of Knowledge publications

Registered and non-registered users can search for and view author profiles

Labs tools allow you to view your collaboration and citing article networks

You choose what information to make public

Provides citation metrics
Best used for...

Managing research activities and author identifiers in one place

Grant and manuscript submissions

Organizing and tracking publications

Finding publications by author in Web of Knowledge

Ensures that your publications are properly attributed in Scopus

Allows others to easily locate your publications in Scopus

Where can I get it?  Register for free at ORCID Register for free at ResearcherID Check profile at Scopus

 

Compare author profiles

  Scopus Google Scholar ResearchGate Academia.edu Mendeley
Overview

Profile and author identifier

Free to search, but profile does not appear in mainstream search engines

Account is created automatically when author's publication is first indexed by Scopus

Profile Profille Profile Profile with social functions
Biography No No, only affiliations and interests Yes Yes Yes
Publication List Yes Yes Yes Yes

Yes

Linked Publications Yes Yes Possible Possible

Yes

Adding is (semi) automatic Yes, only articles indexed by Scopus are included Yes, not always accurate PubMed, IEEE, Cite Seer, BMC Crossref, Microsoft AS, PubMed, ArXiv Available via many search engines and when RIS or BibTeX files are available
Includes metrics Yes Yes Yes No traditional metrics, but does show page and document views Yes, but only visible to the profile owner
Features and Limitations

Proprietary (needs institutional subscription), limited to papers indexed in Scopus

Provides citation metrics

Searching yields results from institutional repositories and other open access sources

Basic citation metrics

Allows users to upload full-text articles, raw data, and other documents 

Networking opportunities

Full-text publications are indexed in Google Scholar

Citation management tools

Networking opportunities

Number of Users Unknown Unknown 5 million 15.5 million 2.5 million