Skip to main content
Banner Image

HIST 110: World History to 1500

This guide supports Prof. Gaughan's HIST 110 course.

Objective

As part of your assignment, you are required to find and request four books on your topic:

  • One print book from the CSU-Pueblo Library
  • One print book, requested from the CSU-Ft. Collins Libraries
  • One ebook, from the CSU-Pueblo Library or freely available online
  • One print book, requested via WorldCat

This is only a portion of your assignment; please consult your workbook for complete instructions.

Find books in the CSU-Pueblo Library stacks

Start the search:

  1. Start on the library homepage. Click on Advanced Search under the Super Search box. 
  2. Change Search for from Everything to CSU-Pueblo. (Everything searches the entire CSU System). 
  3. Change Material Type from all items to Books
  4. Enter your keyword(s) and press Search.

Refine results: 

Super Search doesn't distinguish between books and ebooks. To ONLY see print books, scroll down to Collection and select Pueblo General Collection. This will eliminate ebooks.

Find the call number:

  1. Click on a book title
  2. Scroll/Jump to the Find it in Print section 
  3. Write down the call number (the long string of letters and numbers, highlighted in example below)

Find the book on the shelf:

CSU-Pueblo Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books. Look at the first letter of the Call Number - that will tell you which floor you need to start on. This list is also posted in the LARC elevator, and on the digital signs next to the elevator on each floor.

6th Floor

A -- General Works 
B -- Philosophy, Psychology, Religion 
C -- Auxiliary Sciences of History 
D -- World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc. 

4th Floor

PS -- Language and Literature   (American Literature) 
Q -- Science 
R -- Medicine 
S -- Agriculture 
T -- Technology  
U -- Military Science 
V -- Naval Science 
Z -- Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources (General) 

Other Collections:

  • Children's Books
  • VHS Collection
  • Oversize Collection
  • Women's Studies Collection
  • Government Documents

5th Floor

E -- History of The Americas 
F -- History of The Americas 
G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation 
H -- Social Sciences 
J -- Political Science 
K -- Law 
L -- Education 
M -- Music and Books on Music 
N -- Fine Arts 
P-Pr -- Language and Literature (British Literature) 

Direct borrowing from Ft. Collins

Start the search:

  1. Start on the library homepage. Click on Advanced Search under the Super Search box. 
  2. Change Search for from Everything to CSU-Ft. Collins
  3. Change Material Type from all items to Books
  4. Enter your keyword(s) and press Search.

Refine results:

Eliminate books that are also available in the CSU-Pueblo Library stacks: Under Show Only, click on the red X that appears to the right of CSU-Pueblo.

Sign In to Access Direct Borrowing:

Click on a book title to view the entire record. Scroll down to the section Find It In Print. If you haven't signed in yet, you will see a grey bar prompting you to do so. You MUST log in to access direct borrowing—the ILL links aren't what you're looking for!

Request the Book:

Now that you've signed in, you'll see a new option: a link labeled Request. 

Click Request, and fill out the form. Make sure to mark the Pickup Location as Pueblo Library. You don't need to provide a Need By date. Press Request to submit. 

Pick Up Your Book

You'll receive an email notification when your book is ready to be picked up from the 1st floor circulation desk. 

Find eBooks

Borrow an ebook from the CSU-Pueblo Library:

Repeat the steps from section 1. Instead of selecting Collection Pueblo General Collection, select Online at CSU-Pueblo under Show Only. This will eliminate print books from your search results. 

Read the eBook:

Click on the book title to open the full record. Scroll down to the section labeled View Online. One or more links to the ebook will be listed. If you are accessing Super Search from off-campus, you may be prompted to log in after clicking on one of these links.

Find an ebook online: 

There are a number of historical books in the public domain. These online collections are a good place to start:

Request books through WorldCat

Search WorldCat:

Access WorldCat. More than 10,000 libraries from around the world, CSU-Pueblo included, have uploaded their book catalogs to WorldCat so that users can find and request books from wherever they might be found. 

Click on Advanced Search. Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Under Limit your search, change the Audience setting from Any Audience to Not juvenile. Press SEARCH.

Refine your results:

Limit your search results to Print books, using the left-hand menu. For licensing reasons, you cannot borrow ebooks or other electronic resources from other libraries.

Request a book:

Click on the book title you want, then click the blue Request Item button. Fill out the form and press submit. You will receive an email notification when your book is ready for pickup at the 1st floor circulation desk.