Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: Food in America: Resources

Background information

The Cambridge World History of Food [Online] by Kenneth F. Kiple, Kriemhild Coneè Ornelas (Editors)
A two-volume history of food and nutrition, and their relation to human health and culture. Covers the spectrum of foods; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. Offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink. Includes a dictionary of plant foods.
Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink [Online] by John F. Mariani
Since 1983, this encyclopedia has been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, the encyclopedia includes biographical entries, both historical and contemporary.
Food and Drink in American History [Online] by Andrew F. Smith
This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.

Books and ebooks

Books are in-depth, subject-specific writing about a particular time period, event, person, or phenomenon. They combine background information with analysis of primary and secondary sources. In short, they are a very valuable resource for history papers.

The CSU-Pueblo Library owns thousands of history books and ebooks. But if we don't have what you're looking for, you may be able to request it from another library.

SuperSearch This link opens in a new window
Find books and ebooks on your topic here at CSU-Pueblo, or request books from CSU-Ft. Collins.
Prospector Regional Catalog This link opens in a new window
20 million+ books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other materials from libraries in and around Colorado. Materials can be requested and delivered to the CSU-Pueblo library.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Can't find the book you're looking for in SuperSearch or Prospector? Search and borrow books from more than 10,000 participating libraries in WorldCat.

Primary sources

State and national archives

Online Archive of California This link opens in a new window
Free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, museums, and the 10 University of California campuses.
Digital Commonwealth: Massachusetts Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of photographs, manuscripts, maps, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made freely available by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies in Massachusetts.

Small collections

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project
Online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century, including page images of 76 cookbooks and searchable full-text transcriptions. Also features a glossary of cookery terms and multidimensional images of antique cooking implements.
Szathmary Recipe Pamphlet Digital Collection
More than 4,000 promotional recipe pamphlets, published mainly by food and appliance manufacturers and trade associations. Dating from the late 19th century to the present, this advertising ephemera reflects the evolution of the modern American diet.
Food History: A Research Guide
Comprehensive list of cookery books, scholarly works, and primary sources intended to assist researchers on identifying trends in food history. Includes wartime food manuals, travelers' memoirs, letters and diaries, advertising, and manufacturer's pamphlets.
War-Era Food Posters
An online exhibit of American food posters related to World Wars I and II, collected from the National Agricultural Library's collection.
What's on the Menu?
With approximately 45,000 menus dating from the 1840s to the present, The New York Public Library’s restaurant menu collection is one of the largest in the world, used by historians, chefs, novelists and everyday food enthusiasts.
HEARTH (Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History)
A full-text electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines published between 1850 and 1950. Developed by Cornell's Albert R. Mann Library.
FOOD: Transforming the American Table 1950-2000
This exhibition at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History explores those changes and some of the factors—new technologies, influential people, and broad shifts in social and cultural life—behind them.

Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
The Library of Congress has digitized millions of manuscripts, maps, prints and photographs, recordings, videos, and newspapers. Browse by themed collection, or search the entire catalog for specific people, places, and events.

Documentaries

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries, all available to request for purchase. New films added monthly. Curriculum resource.