ENG 491/502 Research Methods and Theory

Courtesy Wade Broadhead, City of Pueblo Planning and Community Development, hosted by History Colorado

Overview of its creation: "The building's principal dome was 72 feet high. It was decorated with female
figures, 16 feet in length, representing the various countries of the world. Also in this dome were
large paintings done in cameo effect, of eight great Americans. No one remembers who the eminent Americans were."

Including historic neighborhoods, the Goodnight Barn, and areas of town. The Historic Context reports provide in depth social histories, and even street name changes over time.

These historic maps from the late 1800s are specially coded to provide quick visual accounts of safety levels for all buildings in a city. Now, they provide a glimpse into the past.

Digitized materials from various archival collections- the Ethnic Heritage Collection covers the Chicano Movement, Columbus Day event, and La Cucaracha, Pueblo's alternative Chicano newspaper.

A listing of physical collections held in the University Archives. You must make an appointment to work with these materials. Call 549-2475.

Houses the Institute's original biennial reports beginning in 1879 and historical documents and photographs regarding the Institute's many operations; i.e., the former dairy farm, the evolution of the various psychiatric divisions and administrative departments, the legendary underground tunnels, the 1962 geographic decentralization process, and many more.

The Rocky Mountain Online Archive is your source of information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming. Specialized guides, called finding aids, give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at twenty-seven different repositories. Search the finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for study and where those collections are located.

The CF&I Archives include over 100,000 photographs, more than 150 films, 30,000 maps and drawings, hundreds of ledgers, and internal publications such as Camp and Plant, The Industrial Bulletin, and The Blast. These are in addition to the core collection of approximately 6000 cubic feet of records documenting CF&I’s steel production, iron and coal mining, geological records, labor relations, land and water resources, employee records, invoices and work orders, executive memoranda, correspondence, and much more, documenting every aspect of the company’s rich history.

The Colorado Smelter was a silver and lead smelter that operated in the Eilers and Bessemer neighborhoods from 1883 to 1908. EPA listed the site on the National Priorities List in December 2014, due to its concern about high levels of arsenic and lead (metals) that had been identified in smelter slag and neighborhood soils.

The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) tracks the management of certain toxic chemicals that may pose a threat to human health and the environment. Certain industrial facilities in the U.S. must report annually how much of each chemical is recycled, combusted for energy recovery, treated for destruction, and disposed of or otherwise released on- and off-site. This information is collectively referred to as production-related waste managed.

Lawsuit brought by Lower Arkansas Water Conservancy District and Colorado Dept. of Public Health and Environment against Colorado Springs re: storm water runoff into Fountain Creek

The initial complaint about storm water runoff polluting Fountain Creek.

The Colorado Dept of Public Health and Environment monitors health and environment in the state.