Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: ENG 491/502 Research Methods and Theory: Primary Sources

Introduction to research

Intro

Historic Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Early American newspapers, published between 1690 and 1876.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
This collection houses the largest and most accessible collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Open access collection of America's historic newspaper pages, dating from 1789-1963. Or, use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Colorado Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
500,000+ digitized pages from 163 newspapers published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923.
Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Colorado newspaper coverage is from the mid-1860s-1890s.

NYS Historic Newspapers
New York State historic newspapers.

Lost Friends: Advertisements from the Southwestern Christian Advocate This link opens in a new window
The "Lost Friends" column, which ran from the paper's 1877 inception well into the first decade of the twentieth century, featured messages from individuals searching for loved ones lost in slavery. This searchable database provides access to more than 1,200 advertisements that appeared in the Southwestern Christian Advocate between November 1879 through 1885.
New York Times 1851–2017 This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events (1851-2008).

Letters, Diaries and More

Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Published and unpublished works by 400+ authors. Search by historical event or life experience. Includes digital reproduction and full-text transcription of the Black Panther newspaper, and oral histories from authors, artists, and activists.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Contains current and past issues of 2,300+ journals.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information about immigration between 1800 and 1950.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 27,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, videos, and oral histories.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.

Government Sources

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Free access to the U.S. Census data from 2000, including data on housing, economics, demographics, and education.

Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789-1957
These statistics reflect economic, social, and political development of the Nation slnce the Federal government was formally established.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Contains historical population and demographic data from 1789- forward.

Print Sources

US Laws and Statutes: Indian Affairs Laws and Treaties Reference: R KF 8203 1902-38
Most other Government Documents are shelved on the 4th floor, using the elegant and mysterious SUDOC classification system, based on publishing agency- e.g. ED 1.302:C 37/3 (Deparment of Education)

Digital Archives

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from early America (1639-1800).
Digital Commonwealth: Massachusetts Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of photographs, manuscripts, maps, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made freely available by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies in Massachusetts.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Open access search engine for thousands of texts, images, audio files, video files, ebooks, primary sources, and other resources digitized by libraries and other organizations in the United States.

New York Historical Society Digital Collections
Includes Children's Aid Society images and some reports.
Making of America
Monographs, journals, and Civil War documents from the late 19th century.

Melville Sources

Melville's Marginalia
Search across Melville's entire annotated library, book by book.
Melville Electronic Library
A critical archive containing manuscript versions, some source materials, (still in progress), art in Melville's works, and more

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Search here for works cited or alluded to within Melville's works. Project Gutenberg is the first collection of open access texts made available to the world.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from 100+ research libraries. Contains 13.7 million+ volumes and is full-text searchable.

Catalogs

Super Search is our and Ft. Collins' library catalog and single search system. You'll find many databases' articles and other resources through it, as well as our book collections. You can request books from Ft. Collins and graduate students have a 6 month check out period. Materials are sent here to and returned at the circulation desk.

Worldcat is an international shared catalog of tens of thousands of libraries. The "original" interface lets you create your own account and offers sophisticated search indexes. Same as above: materials are sent to and returned at the circulation desk.

SuperSearch

Searches most of the CSU-Pueblo Library's collections for articles, books, eBooks, and other sources.
WorldCat

A single catalog containing all of the books, journals, and videos, collected from hundreds of libraries worldwide. Request items not owned by CSU-Pueblo and have them delivered to the library here.
Prospector Regional Catalog

20 million+ books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other materials from libraries in and around Colorado. Materials can be requested and delivered to the CSU-Pueblo library.