Skip to main content
Banner Image

PSYCH 103: Careers for Psychology Majors

Includes major sources in psychology research

Psychology Resources

Psychology Databases

Specialized databases in psychology include PsychINFO, created by the APA.  The PILOTS database is created by is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for PTSD in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. the Department for Veterans' Affairs, and focuses on trauma, though it is not limited to military trauma.  For books and broader interdisciplinary coverage, use Super Search.

Subject headings

Subject headings are a "controlled vocabulary," an authoritative list of terms assigned by the database to organize resources. 

The most common subject headings are created and maintained by the Library of Congress (Library of Congress Subject Headings). Most databases use LCSH to organize resources. Medical and health sciences literature is organized using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Databases may also have their own controlled vocabulary, or thesaurus, of terms. 

To search by subject headings:

  • You must use the exact, complete, subject heading to return results if you are using the 'subject heading' or 'subject' field. 
  • Check the menu at the top of the database screen to see if there is a thesaurus or subject list. You can enter your keyword and it will tell you what subject heading to use instead.
  • Subject headings are listed on the details page for individual items. Clicking on one of the subjects listed for a particular article or citation will display all items that also use that subject heading.

Using the thesaurus to find subject terms

This helpful demonstration shows how to use the thesaurus to craft a search.  You can save searches and set up automated search alerts  in PsychINFO and in most databases by creating a personal account in the database.

Limiting your results by methodology

As you become more deeply involved in research, you will use, and need to find, studies that use various methods.  PsychINFO allows you to limit your results by methodology.  Here are definitions of the various types.  The video uses a different platform to search, but the content is the same.