Research Guides at CSU Pueblo Library: *Education Research: Getting Started

Education Course & Research Guides

Education Research at CSU-Pueblo

Whether you're beginning your program or working on your Master's degree, there are a variety of resources and services to support your coursework. You may need to find case studies as you analyze a classroom scenario, or very specific studies on a teaching method to inform your own action research plan. Besides education databases, there are databases to support your minor, and even some that give lesson plan and curricular ideas in the areas you teach or plan to teach.

What is ERIC?

Most of the research in Teacher Education is presented in the form of scholarly journal articles and conference papers, found in databases such as ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse provided by the US Dept of Education.. You'll see that there are multiple versions of ERIC, and the one that you'll find most familiar is the one via Ebsco. This is an international database, and allows you to search by educational level, reading audience, and type of source. In addition to peer reviewed journal articles, it contains a variety of grey literature, This infographic shows what's in ERIC. This infographic shows how materials are added to ERIC.

Education Databases

SuperSearch This link opens in a new window
The CSU Pueblo Library has electronic access to millions of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, magazine and newspaper articles, streaming videos, ebooks, and primary sources. The Library also has a large collection of print books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and maps.

Statistics Sources

Colorado Department of Education - Statistics
Check here for a variety of statewide statistics, and use the overall site to find state licensing requirements, standards, and upcoming changes.

UNESCO Data Center This link opens in a new window
Freely available, policy-relevant, timely, and reliable international statistics on education, science and technology, and culture and communication.

US Department of Education
Data and statistics by topic, the Nation's Report Card, and a variety of other current research findings.

Find books in the CSU-Pueblo Library stacks

Start the search:

Start on the library homepage. Click on Advanced Search under the SuperSearch box.
Change Search for from Everything to CSU-Pueblo. (Everything searches the entire CSU System).
Change Material Type from all items to Books.
Enter your keyword(s) and press Search.

Refine results:

SuperSearch doesn't distinguish between books and ebooks. To ONLY see print books, scroll down to Collection and select Pueblo General Collection. This will eliminate ebooks.

Find the call number:

Click on a book title
Scroll/Jump to the Find it in Print section
Write down the call number (the long string of letters and numbers, highlighted in example below)

Find the book on the shelf:

CSU-Pueblo Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books. Look at the first letter of the Call Number - that will tell you which floor you need to start on. This list is also posted in the LARC elevator, and on the digital signs next to the elevator on each floor.