Skip to main content
Banner Image

*Psychology Resources

Search tips, explanations, and links to help Psychology students get the most out of the library.

Psychology Resources

The Diagnostic Statistical Manual (DSM)

Psychology research employs a wide range of research methods, with the results published in academic journals and presented at professional conferences.  The American Psychological Association (APA) produces diagnostic handbooks and tools, journals, and databases that compile research findings in the discipline.

The Diagnostic Statistical Manual  is integral to diagnosing mental illnesses, and a print copy of the latest edition, DSM-5,  is on reserve at the circulation desk on the first floor.  An earlier edition, DSM-4, is in the reference collection on the 2nd floor

Psychology Databases

Specialized databases in psychology include PsychINFO, created by the APA.  The PILOTS database is created by is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for PTSD in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. the Department for Veterans' Affairs, and focuses on trauma, though it is not limited to military trauma.  For books and broader interdisciplinary coverage, use Super Search.

Psychology Courses